Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 05-29-2012, 08:37 AM   #28
vicky_molokh's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kyv, Ukraine
Default Re: (Unofficial) FAQ of the GURPS Fora

Some notes on Will, inspired by a recent thread. Might come in handy some day.

Originally Posted by Kromm
Originally Posted by vicky_molokh
Q: Anything with IQ 0, by extension, has Will 0 unless stated otherwise/bought up from IQ, correct?
Yes. That's pretty much self-evident, since Will = IQ and Per = IQ by default, so buying IQ down to 0 takes Will and Per down to 0, too. You don't get Will for free!

Originally Posted by vicky_molokh
Q:Transhuman Space Changing Times includes a template for a robot body with no AI and little to no software (i.e. one that is driven externally by remote or internally by a pilot), which includes IQ-10 [-200]. I'm assuming this can as well be applied to other stuff without a meaningful mind (e.g. modern cars, rocks), despite coming from a setting-specific book. (Another example would be a plant template with IQ & Will 0 from Fantasy, which is genre-specific but not setting-specific.) Am I correct?
It seems applicable to all dumb machines. Note that rocks aren't machines, though . . . a robot body is inherently Unliving, not Homogenous.

Originally Posted by vicky_molokh

Q: Will 0, similar to HT 0, means that 'afflictions etc. have their way with you' if they are resisted by it? (Assuming the effect makes sense in the first place, e.g. Burning Innate Attack against a tree or a car.)
If the attack in question would affect you at all, sure. Note that lots of things with Will 0 have no mind to affect, so mind-affecting abilities fail automatically. Things that have low IQ but a mind generally buy up Will to allow resistance. Those that have low IQ but no mind often have Immunity to Mind Control. And some power modifiers already assume "Only affects targets with minds."

Originally Posted by vicky_molokh
Q: Resisted by Will is not the same as Affecting The Mind. E.g. a Will-resisted Burning Attack is the former, while a HT-based Mind Control or Delusion-Affliction is the latter. Correct?
Q:Lacking a mind protects from Mind-Affecting effects (due to them becoming meaningless). Correct?
Exactly what I was saying above, yes.
Vicky 'Molokh', GURPS FAQ and uFAQ Keeper
vicky_molokh is offline   Reply With Quote

aura with area effect, auras of power, bow, faq, heals fp, heals fp only, kromm explanation, rapier wit, ufaq

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.