Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2021, 09:38 AM   #1
kotya
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Steal attempt

1. Can Thief attempt to steal an item if there's no item in play they are able to steal (e.g. all are Big)?
2. Can Thief attempt to steal a Reloaded Die if it is the only item in play (assuming other player can play it to change the die roll)?
kotya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2021, 03:05 PM   #2
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Steal attempt

In this topic: http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=88524&page=2 in Post-12 Munchkinman states that the thief must specify which item they are trying to steal after discarding the card.
In Post-13 Andrew states that the thief can try to steal a reloaded die, which the owner can play to prevent the theft.
Brf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 09:03 AM   #3
kotya
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Steal attempt

Thanks Brf for your input,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
In this topic: http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=88524&page=2 in Post-12 Munchkinman states that the thief must specify which item they are trying to steal after discarding the card.
This was later overruled by Andrew:
http://forums.sjgames.com/showpost.php?p=1654409
http://forums.sjgames.com/showpost.php?p=1902124
Thief does not have to specify an Item before the die roll.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
In Post-13 Andrew states that the thief can try to steal a reloaded die, which the owner can play to prevent the theft.
That makes sense, but my question is specific and is about the situation where Reloaded Die is the only Item. That means, if it would be used to set Thief's die roll to 6 (accidentally or intentionally), there will be no Item to steal afterwards. Is it a legit play?

I believe it would be good to have an official answer here.
kotya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 12:41 PM   #4
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Steal attempt

Quote:
Originally Posted by kotya View Post
Thanks Brf for your input,
That makes sense, but my question is specific and is about the situation where Reloaded Die is the only Item.
I believe it would be good to have an official answer here.
That link I gave, with post-13, covers that situation, since Andrew states , the Reloaded Die could turn an opposing Thief's successful theft attempt (even of the Reloaded Die) into a failure. It is also implied in the second link you gave above, where Andrew states the Reloaded Die can be used to foil the theft.
Brf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 12:58 PM   #5
Devin Lewis
Munchkin Associate Dev
 
Devin Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin
Default Re: Steal attempt

1. No. If there's no legal target, the ability cannot be used.

2. Sure. It's a legal target when you roll, but the Reloaded Die becomes available to use once you roll, so it can be used against you, making failure automatic.
__________________
Devin Lewis || Munchkin CCG Designer, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin
Devin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 03:42 PM   #6
Mr_Draco
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default Re: Steal attempt

So question,

- a Thief tries to steal a Reloaded Die and succeeds
- the other player uses the targeted Reloaded Die to change the roll to the failure.
- Thief then uses a Loaded Die to change the roll to a success again.

The Reloaded Die can't be taken as it is now in the discards but is the steal attempt considered a success and the Thief doesn't lose the level? Or because he doesn't get the targeted item, is it a failure even if his die roll was a success?
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 12:25 PM   #7
Devin Lewis
Munchkin Associate Dev
 
Devin Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin
Default Re: Steal attempt

Maybe don't get into this situation in the first place?

The die roll determines success or failure. If the die result is a success, but the outcome ends without you getting an Item, you've still succeeded.
__________________
Devin Lewis || Munchkin CCG Designer, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin
Devin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reloaded die, thief

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.