Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2021, 06:44 AM   #1
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Cast out of HTH

When last we saw Molly a deadly giant tardigrade had engaged her in HTH with a charge attack through her rear hex.

Thinking quickly Molly creates an illusion duplicate of herself in the HTH hex and therefore displaces herself to an adjacent hex as per ITL 139.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2021, 07:44 AM   #2
phiwum
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default Re: Cast out of HTH

If your GM allows it, you might as well exploit it, I guess.

But my reading is not that you or the illusion are expelled, but that one of you voluntarily moves away. That's not possible in this case, but it's also not necessary since this is a hex with ongoing HTH. You are both therefore in HTH.

These edge cases are somewhat interesting, but ain't no way I'd let them be exploited like this.
phiwum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2021, 12:12 PM   #3
Chris Rice
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: London Uk, but originally from Scotland
Default Re: Cast out of HTH

I was under the impression that a figure couldnít cast spells in HTH.
Chris Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2021, 02:10 PM   #4
phiwum
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default Re: Cast out of HTH

There is clearly no option to cast spells in HTH in ITL. But other sources (Wizard?) give a penalty for casting spells in HTH which a lot of folk adopt for ITL. I think it's DX -6, but I don't know for certain.

Unfortunately, the search function ignores short words like HTH, so an initial search for this conversation came up short.
phiwum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2021, 02:18 PM   #5
Chris Rice
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: London Uk, but originally from Scotland
Default Re: Cast out of HTH

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiwum View Post
There is clearly no option to cast spells in HTH in ITL. But other sources (Wizard?) give a penalty for casting spells in HTH which a lot of folk adopt for ITL. I think it's DX -6, but I don't know for certain.

Unfortunately, the search function ignores short words like HTH, so an initial search for this conversation came up short.
I think a DX penalty is preferable as it gives an experienced Wizard a chance to cast a defensive spell in HTH.
Chris Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2021, 02:51 PM   #6
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Cast out of HTH

I also use the rule from Wizard. Which I either remember is -6, or I mis-remember but still assert is -6!
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.