Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Ogre and G.E.V.

Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 08-12-2018, 10:51 AM   #11
Ogre Line Editor
GranitePenguin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Plainfield, IL
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Originally Posted by Tom H. View Post
Hey, thanks for the reply.

From my reading, I thought the rules could be a little ambiguous.

Referring to the latest Ogre Battle Box Web Rules:

Page 16 indicates that the destruction occurs "if it receives another D result while disabled." "Another D" could imply the first disable needed to be combat result induced.

Also, the bottom of page 11 reinforces the fact that in general how a unit becomes disabled may matter.

Note: I use my original Designer Edition rules, but noted that the above references did not change between the versions.
It's not ambiguous; a "D" is a "D", regardless of where it comes from. The game does not make a distinction between disabled by an attack vs disabled by terrain; the resulting disable is identical. "if it receives another D result while disabled" means if it was disabled by terrain, a second D from an attack will kill it. It does not imply that the first D has to come from combat.

The whole point is if you risk disabling a unit by driving it into dangerous terrain, it is more likely to be destroyed by an attack on the following turn.
Ogre Line Editor
GranitePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.