Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2013, 03:23 AM   #1
JCurwen3
 
JCurwen3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Default Can you use Extra Effort with Will 0?

If your Will is 0, is it possible to even try to use Extra Effort? Or do you still succeed on a 3 or 4, and hence can try for a very small chance at success?
__________________
-JC
JCurwen3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 03:50 AM   #2
Gnomasz
 
Gnomasz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Poland
Default Re: Can you use Extra Effort with Will 0?

You can't roll for success if your target number is less than 3, unless you're active defending (p. B345). So no, unless you roll against Will-based skill of at least +3.
__________________
My irregular blog: d8 hit location table
Gnomasz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 03:51 AM   #3
NineDaysDead
Banned
 
NineDaysDead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Can you use Extra Effort with Will 0?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCurwen3 View Post
If your Will is 0, is it possible to even try to use Extra Effort? Or do you still succeed on a 3 or 4, and hence can try for a very small chance at success?
Only if some modifiers bring your will upto 3 or higher.
NineDaysDead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 04:05 AM   #4
JCurwen3
 
JCurwen3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Default Re: Can you use Extra Effort with Will 0?

Thanks Gnomasz and NineDaysDead!
__________________
-JC
JCurwen3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 04:09 AM   #5
DangerousThing
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default Re: Can you use Extra Effort with Will 0?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCurwen3 View Post
Thanks Gnomasz and NineDaysDead!
How is the character getting a Will of zero? Talk about the ideal advertising subject... :)
DangerousThing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:06 AM   #6
Railstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default Re: Can you use Extra Effort with Will 0?

Why would you want to?

I mean, if your character has Will 0, that implies no self-motivation at all - not someone with the inclination or interest to spend Extra Effort on a Will roll.
Railstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
extra effort, will attribute, will rolls

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.