Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 07-20-2016, 06:47 AM   #11
Graey
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Longmont, CO
Default Re: Staff DWA

I can't recall where I saw this, whether in one of the rule books or on a forum comment by one of the authors, but yes, you can make a DWA with both ends of a two-handed weapon. The specific example given was a staff. (And it wasn't the Qian kun ri yue dao either, though there's another example right there. It doesn't follow the rules I remember, though, so it could be that I'm wrong.)

It has to be two different targets with, IIRC, Reach -1 yards between them (so a staff requires two targets with 1 yard between them). Remember a DWA is two simultaneous attacks; Rapid Strike by definition isn't. Anyway, you hit two people with both ends of your staff for thrusting damage, and they defend without the -1 for a single person defending both attacks from a DWA.


I did find this from Kromm where he lays it out differently than I recall. I'd go with this if I couldn't find the rule/ruling I'm talking about. Basically the foes have to be adjacent, at Reach 1, and you take a -2 to damage.

http://forums.sjgames.com/showpost.p...29&postcount=4

If someone finds the book or post reference, please let me know. I don't like posting rules without references, but I know I saw it somewhere.
Graey is offline   Reply With Quote
 

Tags
dual-weapon attack, staff

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.