Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2020, 02:59 PM   #41
talonthehand
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: LFK
Default Re: can you drop a benefit of an Ally to drop a drawback of a Dependent?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Johnston2 View Post
Shaun of the Dead was a comedy. That was one of the jokes.
While I generally think Plane's entire line of reasoning is absurd to the point that I am very tempted to play in one of Plane's games just to see what it would be like, GURPS can handle comedies just as well as something super serious.

Even if it couldn't the idea of seeing a monster who looks like someone you were close to, and being emotionally attached to them, is a tragic response that can be mined for roleplaying reasons.
talonthehand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2020, 06:53 AM   #42
Daigoro
 
Daigoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Meifumado
Default Re: can you drop a benefit of an Ally to drop a drawback of a Dependent?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Johnston2 View Post
Not having that happen is what you pay the character points for when you buy an Ally.
Maybe the GM wants to fiddle with what those points mean. Maybe the player gave the GM some plot hook points to spend for him.

These might not work at your table, but they're certainly possible.
__________________
Collaborative Settings:
Cyberpunk: Duopoly Nation
Space Opera: Behind the King's Eclipse
And heaps of forum collabs, 30+ and counting!
Daigoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2020, 11:52 AM   #43
Plane
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Default Re: can you drop a benefit of an Ally to drop a drawback of a Dependent?

The lowest tier of dependent (acquaintance) seems to have a small advantage to it too: B91 uses this term under Telesend for a target who (like "casual friends" as opposed to "close friends") suffers only a -3 to contact as opposed to the -5 for the "met only briefly" category.

I guess that means you can't Telesend to someone you've never "met" before... never noticed that until now. Makes me wonder how you meet that threshold, like if you could use someone other power to "telemeet" some contact you've only heard of... like if Prof X is trying to locate the lost son of some lady who comes asking for help.
Plane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ally dependent, ally group, dependent ally, dependent group, zombie (spell)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.