Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2018, 03:10 PM   #1
Donny Brook
 
Donny Brook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Snoopy's basement
Default Confused by the FAQ on Afflictions

The question was can you Afflict yourself.
The answer says: "Sure. But you lose all the niceties of having a personal Advantage and get all the effects of being Afflicted (HT roll, uncontrollability after activation, variable duration etc.)."

What does it mean by uncontrolability after activation? Isn't it canonical that the Afflictor controls afflicted Advantages?
Donny Brook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 03:42 PM   #2
Brandy
 
Brandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Default Re: Confused by the FAQ on Afflictions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Donny Brook View Post
The question was can you Afflict yourself.
The answer says: "Sure. But you lose all the niceties of having a personal Advantage and get all the effects of being Afflicted (HT roll, uncontrollability after activation, variable duration etc.)."

What does it mean by uncontrolability after activation? Isn't it canonical that the Afflictor controls afflicted Advantages?
I don't believe so. Old forum threads indicate that being able to end an affliction early would be an enhancement (+10% seems to be the hive wisdom), and basic says explicitly that the subject of an afflicted advantage isn't under control of the advantage.
__________________
I didn't realize who I was until I stopped being who I wasn't.
Formerly known as Bookman- forum name changed 1/3/2018.
Brandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 06:38 PM   #3
Culture20
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default Re: Confused by the FAQ on Afflictions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandy View Post
I don't believe so. Old forum threads indicate that being able to end an affliction early would be an enhancement (+10% seems to be the hive wisdom), and basic says explicitly that the subject of an afflicted advantage isn't under control of the advantage.
But when the subject isnít in control (not always the case), the afflictor is. If the subject and afflictor are the same person...
Culture20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 06:46 PM   #4
Brandy
 
Brandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Default Re: Confused by the FAQ on Afflictions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Culture20 View Post
But when the subject isnít in control (not always the case), the afflictor is. If the subject and afflictor are the same person...
I don't think that's correct. I think that without other modifications if I afflict you with insubstantiability neither of us can end it before the duration expires.

If characters or Powers says otherwise I haven't seen it.
__________________
I didn't realize who I was until I stopped being who I wasn't.
Formerly known as Bookman- forum name changed 1/3/2018.
Brandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 07:16 PM   #5
Donny Brook
 
Donny Brook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Snoopy's basement
Default Re: Confused by the FAQ on Afflictions

But if I Afflict you with Warp, I decide where you go. And if I Afflict you with Flying, I control your flight. Unless I have a [0] modifier on Afflict that puts the target in control.
Donny Brook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 10:04 PM   #6
naloth
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Default Re: Confused by the FAQ on Afflictions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Donny Brook View Post
But if I Afflict you with Warp, I decide where you go. And if I Afflict you with Flying, I control your flight. Unless I have a [0] modifier on Afflict that puts the target in control.
Some GM arbitration is required, but affliction isn't something you have to keep concentrating on. It's a fire and then you're free to do something else letting the affect you "cursed" (or blessed) the target with takes its course without your direct supervision.

Warp gives one use when you afflict it. Flight shouldn't allow you to move the afflicted, but it would give you the ability to give them and turn on the ability to fly. The "under control" bit isn't active control, but who gets to choose if it power is activated.
naloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
affliction, warp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.