Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Old 06-22-2012, 08:39 PM   #1
topheron

Default Clerics resurrection and kneepads?

Hi, I saw Tabletop with Wil Wheaton, and bought Munchkin Deluxe. I'm a complete newbie and I have a question.

I use the Kneepads of Allure to force another player to help me defeat a Plutonium Dragon.

Per the rules in the Combat section, I'm supposed to: "Discard the monster card including any enhancers and one-shot items played, and draw treasure."

Per the rules in the Asking For Help section I'm supposed to: "Discard it (the monster). Draw treasure (see below) and follow any special instructions on the monster card..."

Below just says: "Draw face up, so the whole party can see what you got, if someone helped you."

Note that there is a slight change in the wording between the two sections.

My question is this: After my unwilling helper and I have killed the monster, do we put all the cards used in combat that would be discarded on the various discard piles BEFORE drawing the treasure cards face up?

Because if that's the case, I'm going to discard the cards in the order I choose (it was my combat), place the kneepads on top of the discard pile, and use the resurrection ability of the cleric to get the kneepads back by discarding a card out of my hand.

But I'm wondering if the specific wording in the two sections of the rule book is different because of this possibility. In the section on Asking For Help they make no reference to anything after combat being discarded except the monster, so it could be argued that they are specifying that the monster is discarded, the treasure cards are pulled, and then as the combat phase ends everything left after combat is discarded even though they don't specifically say so in that section of the rules.