Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2022, 03:59 AM   #1
Phantasm
 
Phantasm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: On the road again...
Default Question regarding stacking IT:DR

Say I have three characters, a tanky brick, a melee DPS scrapper, and a buffing caster; Brick has IT:DR /5, Scrapper is just wearing light armor. Just before a fight the Buffer casts a spell which grants IT:DR /2 to all allies in an area (bypassing armor because Malediction).

Does the Brick take the better of the two, are the two IT:DR numbers added or multiplied, or does his own IT:DR go up a level to /10? (Obviously the Scrapper is glad to have the increase in case he accidentally grabs aggro.)


Likewise, is "Cannot stack from multiple castings" a +0% Feature or a -5% Nuisance Effect?

( The current build I'm working on: Affliction 1 (HT+0; Advantage: IT:DR /2, +500%; Area
Effect: 8 yds, +150%; Cosmic: Bypasses DR, +300%; Emanation, -20%; Fixed Duration, +0%;
Reduced Duration /2 (1.5 minutes), -5%; Requires QN Roll (Own Roll), -10%; Selective Area, +20%;
Sorcery, -15%; Alternative Ability, 1/5) [21]
)
__________________
"Life ... is an Oreo cookie." - J'onn J'onzz, 1991

"But mom, I don't wanna go back in the dungeon!"

The GURPS Marvel Universe Reboot Project A-G, N-Z, and S-Z, and its not-a-wiki-really web adaptation.
Ranoc, a Muskets-and-Magery Renaissance Fantasy Setting

Last edited by Phantasm; 11-30-2022 at 04:58 AM.
Phantasm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2022, 05:13 AM   #2
Varyon
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Re: Question regarding stacking IT:DR

For IT:DR, I'd personally handle it by combining the levels. That is, IT:DR /1.5 is level 1*, IT:DR /2 is level 2, IT:DR /3 is level 3, IT:DR /4 is level 4, IT:DR /5 is level 5, IT:DR /10 is level 6, and so forth. In this case, you wind up with the character who had IT:DR /5 going to IT:DR /15 - level 5 + level 2 = level 7. If this seems off, well, that's because IT:DR /4 and IT:DR /5 break the pattern, and are the only two levels that do so; really, it should go 1.5, 2, 3, 5, 7, 10, 15, 20, 30, 50, 70, 100, etc, but instead it goes 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 10, 15, 20, 30, 50, 70, 100.

*This isn't listed as an option, but the pricing for IT:DR indicates a base of [25] per level - it's just that it starts with 2 levels for [50].


For stacking, the default is that Afflictions don't stack; I believe there is an Enhancement that lets them do so, but I can't find it with a quick search. Note that Thaumatology: Sorcery explicitly notes that buffs don't stack, and explains how to handle multiple such, on page 9. The example there is someone hit with two Afflictions - the tl;dr of it is that you all such buffs apply, but effects don't stack - if you've got two sources of DR, just apply whichever is better in the current situation.
__________________
GURPS Overhaul
Varyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2022, 10:33 AM   #3
Fred Brackin
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Default Re: Question regarding stacking IT:DR

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantasm View Post
Say I have three characters, a tanky brick, a melee DPS scrapper, and a buffing caster; Brick has IT:DR /5, Scrapper is just wearing light armor. Just before a fight the Buffer casts a spell which grants IT:DR /2 to all allies in an area (bypassing armor because Malediction).

Does the Brick take the better of the two, are the two IT:DR numbers added or multiplied, or does his own IT:DR go up a level to /10? (Obviously the Scrapper is glad to have the increase in case he accidentally grabs aggro.)


Likewise, is "Cannot stack from multiple castings" a +0% Feature or a -5% Nuisance Effect?

)
By conventional Gurps theory Traits stack when they come from different sources.

So if the brick's Powers have a "Magical" source the answer in "no" but if the Powers are "Cosmic" the answer would be "yes" (and they'd multiply)

This is in line with an answer Kromm once gave about Armor Divisors where I would ahve (at first) followed varyon's logic about sliding the level upward..

"Cannot benefit from multiple castings" is 0%. Even by itself the fact that you're calling them both "castings" puts them both in the "Magic" category.
__________________
Fred Brackin
Fred Brackin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2022, 01:36 PM   #4
Refplace
 
Refplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yukon, OK
Default Re: Question regarding stacking IT:DR

Quote:
Originally Posted by Varyon View Post
For stacking, the default is that Afflictions don't stack; I believe there is an Enhancement that lets them do so, but I can't find it with a quick search. Note that Thaumatology: Sorcery explicitly notes that buffs don't stack, and explains how to handle multiple such, on page 9. The example there is someone hit with two Afflictions - the tl;dr of it is that you all such buffs apply, but effects don't stack - if you've got two sources of DR, just apply whichever is better in the current situation.
This.
You have to add Cumulative, +400% (p. B36) in order for them to stack, otherwise use the better of what is there. So the spell would not lower IT:DR for someone who had a higher level.
As for the effective level I would add the points together to determine effectiveness.
If the GM wants the Affliction to stack with existing traits there is plenty of precedent for it but you would only buff once - not stack the buffs without the Cumulative modifier. A limitation for not stacking would vary based on how rare the trait given was but 0% here is ok.
Note that it probably should not stack with any magical IT:DR as for magic enhancing magic.
__________________
Looking for group in my area
My GURPS official contributions Buying them lets us know you want more!
My GURPS fan contribution and blog:
REFPLace GURPS Landing Page
My List of GURPS You Tube videos (plus a few other useful items)
My GURPS Wiki entries

Last edited by Refplace; 11-30-2022 at 02:36 PM.
Refplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2022, 10:15 AM   #5
Phantasm
 
Phantasm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: On the road again...
Default Re: Question regarding stacking IT:DR

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Brackin View Post
By conventional Gurps theory Traits stack when they come from different sources.

So if the brick's Powers have a "Magical" source the answer in "no" but if the Powers are "Cosmic" the answer would be "yes" (and they'd multiply)

This is in line with an answer Kromm once gave about Armor Divisors where I would ahve (at first) followed varyon's logic about sliding the level upward..

"Cannot benefit from multiple castings" is 0%. Even by itself the fact that you're calling them both "castings" puts them both in the "Magic" category.
This would be more of a multiple source deal; the Brick's IT:DR would be innate, not a casting. Think Dr. Strange casting a buff on Hulk and Hellcat during their time in the Defenders....

Thanks. I think I have it figured out, though.
__________________
"Life ... is an Oreo cookie." - J'onn J'onzz, 1991

"But mom, I don't wanna go back in the dungeon!"

The GURPS Marvel Universe Reboot Project A-G, N-Z, and S-Z, and its not-a-wiki-really web adaptation.
Ranoc, a Muskets-and-Magery Renaissance Fantasy Setting
Phantasm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.