Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 12-20-2022, 04:05 PM   #1
Morlock

Default Warhammer 40K Lite?

I'm new to GURPs and I'm looking at it (and a few other systems) as a base to create several different games. One is a light version of 40k. I mean light in two ways here - rules light, and low-powered. In the first sense, I want to start out with GURPS 4e lite and add as little as possible rules-wise while capturing the essence of a 40k-like setting. I say "like" because I'm not at all interested in strictly adhering to the lore. Along the same lines, I say "low-powered" because I want to flatten out the power scale of the setting. Having powerful demons or imperial big-wigs is okay, but space marines statted out like superman to be faithful to the lore is the opposite of what I want. I want something more "realistic," i.e., pretty much no one as a class (space marine, inquisitor, etc.) walking around feeling like a mere peasant with a bolter can't put him in the grave.

If it helps, just think of this as a setting inspired by 40k, rather than 40k.

Anyhoo, what I'm asking for is advice on what bits to incorporate. Every 40k adaptation I see goes in the opposite direction from what I want, so I suspect it will be easier to look for GURPS material (official & fan stuff welcome) that I can reskin to my purposes.
Morlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2022, 08:38 PM   #2
Mister Negative

Default Re: Warhammer 40K Lite?

Rather than doing '40K Lite', you might just consider restricting your setting.

While superhuman space marines and inquisitors do exist in the setting, the average Imperial citizen (heck, the average Imperial soldier), doesn't ever see them in the flesh.