Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2014, 09:30 PM   #1
SmoothOperative
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Default Munchkin 4 Steed Enhancers

Quick (maybe obvious) question about steed enhancers from Munchkin 4 The Need For Steed expansion- if you acquire a steed enhancing item such as Press-On Wings which give you a bonus of +2 attack, are you allowed to use that item to boost your character's attack even if you do not have a steed? Or is the steed enhancer card inactive in your backpack until you obtain a steed able to use it? I apologize if this question has been answered somewhere, I looked here and in the rules and could not find anything related. Thanks!
SmoothOperative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 02:41 AM   #2
ncoleman
 
ncoleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default Re: Munchkin 4 Steed Enhancers

You cannot enhance yourself you must have a steed to play it on.
ncoleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 08:58 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Munchkin 4 Steed Enhancers

Steed Enhancers only work for Steeds. If you don't have a Steed and want to put one into play, you must turn it sideways to show that it is unused.

I want to make clear that the term "backpack" has no game definition and I've witnessed the usage of 4 separate definitions of the concept on this forum alone. Due to the lack of an official term and the lack of a cohesive agreement on what the term means, we discourage its use. All in play Items are carried, some are used, some are unused and turned sideways to show it.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 09:36 AM   #4
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Munchkin 4 Steed Enhancers

Hnh. I thought I remembered it being true that you flat out couldn't play Steed Enhancers at all unless you either had a Steed to play them on, or a Cheat! card to play them with. I guess being able to play them sideways will give us a bit more flexibility, since we can get them out of our hands if need be in order to avoid giving Charity.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 01:50 PM   #5
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Munchkin 4 Steed Enhancers

Maybe. Might be a newer ruling from Andrew, so I'm not remembering it as well. . .

So, we can wait for Andrew to weigh in or you can link to the ruling.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 12-13-2014 at 02:04 PM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 04:11 PM   #6
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Munchkin 4 Steed Enhancers

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
Maybe. Might be a newer ruling from Andrew, so I'm not remembering it as well. . .

So, we can wait for Andrew to weigh in or you can link to the ruling.
I would have if I could find it. I'm perfectly willing to accept your ruling and write my memory off as faulty, though.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 09:11 PM   #7
NeosMagus
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kempton Park, South Africa
Default Re: Munchkin 4 Steed Enhancers

The rule for item enhancers is that they cannot be played on their own... I think the assumption is steed enhancers work on the same principle?
NeosMagus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2014, 02:41 PM   #8
Xzion
 
Xzion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada.
Default Re: Munchkin 4 Steed Enhancers

My understanding of putting cards into the unused side bar is for items only, meaning anything with a gold value at the bottom. Putting a card in play like this means your character is 'carrying' the item, but not using it.
__________________
"Think first, think fast, be careful, pursue." - RDA
Xzion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 12:31 PM   #9
Enzzo
 
Enzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Default Re: Munchkin 4 Steed Enhancers

I found where Andrew ruled on this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Steed/Item Enhancers with a GP value may NOT be carried, unused -- if you can't legally use them, you can't put them into play at all.
Enzzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bonuses, item enhancer, need for steed, press-on wings

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.