Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2014, 06:20 AM   #1
foxanik
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Deflect Energy spell and question about Command

Hello!

Lately small problem came up in my game.

Wizard has Deflect Energy spell (M73) and also perk Sacrificial Blocking Spell.

Fristly - doesn't Deflect Energy has some kind of built-in Sacrificial use? I conclude that with this line: "(...)If the caster is not the subject, apply distance modifiers as for a Regular spell.".

Another problem - what does "Deflected attacks may still hit a target beyond the subject.". My player (playing wizard) assumes that it only deflects energy to the FRONT. How to do it? I decided to use 1d to decide where deflected energy goes (1 being front, 2 being right side of front, etc.). But of course I hear a lot of moaning and "it's illogical", like magic could be logical in any way...

His tactic, I guess, is to stand behind some ally, and cast Sacrificial Deflect Energy at guy in front of him so he defends his ally and himself with only one Blocking spell.

Also - Command - wizard casts it on SM+1 archer who stands 20 yd away.
1. Does he get -1/yd penalty, meaning that he casts Command spell (with command "Drop it!") at -20?
2. Does it cost him twice the usual cost (subject is SM+1 which means that cost is doubled)?
foxanik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 06:38 AM   #2
mlangsdorf
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Deflect Energy spell and question about Command

Deflect Energy is like Missile Protection: it causes an energy attack to miss one target but otherwise continue on its way. So if he stands behind someone and casts Deflect Energy on that person, any energy attack targeted at that person will continue on to the next person in its normal line of travel and hit that person (the spellcaster) on a 9 or less. So this is a risky way to defend two people with one spell.


Command is a Blocking spell, not a Regular spell. It does not look like it takes a penalty for distance or target SM, but it's a common and reasonable house rule to apply both.
__________________
Read my GURPS blog: http://noschoolgrognard.blogspot.com
mlangsdorf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 09:41 AM   #3
Not another shrubbery
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Deflect Energy spell and question about Command

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxanik View Post
Also - Command - wizard casts it on SM+1 archer who stands 20 yd away.
1. Does he get -1/yd penalty, meaning that he casts Command spell (with command "Drop it!") at -20?
2. Does it cost him twice the usual cost (subject is SM+1 which means that cost is doubled)?
If you use Command as a Regular spell, it should take the same modifiers as other such spells. So, yeah, it should cost double and be at -20. Note that it also should take a normal 1 second casting time when used that way.
Not another shrubbery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.