Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS > GURPS Character Assistant

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2022, 10:51 PM   #1
MeddlingMonk
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Default Minor interface annoyances with GCA5

I was just trying to add a new entry to the campaign log, and found it annoying that there was no easy way to delete the default text in the "caption" field...if I tab to it, the text is highlighted and I can just start typing, but it takes multiple tabs to actually get to that field after creating a new entry. If I just click on the field, it immediately unselects the text and moves the cursor to the end, and Ctrl-A doesn't work to re-select the text, so I have to manually delete each character (or drag the mouse to re-select, or tab away and then Shift-tab back, etc).

So, can you change the tab order (or just move the focus to the caption field when a new entry is created) and/or enable Ctrl-A in all the fields on that form (not just the main "Notes" field, where I see it does work)?

(Note: I'm using Wine to run under Linux, so I suppose it's possible that the interface behaves differently when running natively under Windows.)

Last edited by MeddlingMonk; 02-16-2022 at 10:54 PM.
MeddlingMonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2022, 07:02 AM   #2
Stormcrow
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ronkonkoma, NY
Default Re: Minor interface annoyances with GCA5

The lack of Ctrl-A must be a Linux/Wine thing, because I can Ctrl-A on the caption field in Windows, as well as all the others.
Stormcrow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2022, 09:55 AM   #3
Armin
GCA Prime
 
Armin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Default Re: Minor interface annoyances with GCA5

CTRL+A does seem to work there. I'm not sure why it isn't for you. Maybe Linux for some reason doesn't like it in non-multi-line entry fields? I dunno, it's weird.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MeddlingMonk View Post
So, can you change the tab order (or just move the focus to the caption field when a new entry is created) and/or enable Ctrl-A in all the fields on that form (not just the main "Notes" field, where I see it does work)?
I'll see about moving the focus to the caption when a new entry is created. It should be doing it that way already.

It won't appear in the next update, but I hope it'll be in the one after that.
__________________
Armin D. Sykes | Visit my GCA5 blog for updates and previews. | Get GURPS Character Assistant 5 now at Warehouse 23.
Armin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gca5

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.