Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 01-23-2019, 12:05 AM   #1
Ezra

Default CoC-Style Magic

I'm new to the GURPS system, so I hope this isn't a naïve question, but I'm wondering if the GURPS magic system can accommodate a Call of Cthulhu or Elric magic paradigm. That is, a magic system that is difficult to execute, time consuming, and dangerous (possibility of demonic possession, madness, etc.).

If so, which source books would I need?
Ezra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 12:15 AM   #2
Refplace

Default Re: CoC-Style Magic

Yes it can.
I discuss most of the systems here and link to a few others, such as Rogers blog who recent l had a similar discussion.
In particular if your looking for a POW or SAN mechanic the article The Fifth Attribute from Pyramid #3/120 Alt GURPS V is similar.
Corruption from GURPS Horror has a Corruption mechanic for converting most systems to a dark magic kind of thing. Horror is likely to be a lot of use in a dark type campaign.
And GURPS Thaumatology has Spirit Assisted and Threshold magic along with lots of ideas for tinkering with other systems.
My List of GURPS You Tube videos (plus a few other useful items)
My GURPS Wiki entries

Last edited by Refplace; 01-23-2019 at 12:26 AM.
Refplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 10:05 AM   #3
Mysterious Dark Lord v3.2

And GURPS Cthulhupunk contains the conversion rules for CoC to 3rd Edition GURPS, if that's of any assistance.

Personally, I'd also get the Thaumatology - Sorcery supplement. Most of the CoC spells are closer to that in feel than the default magic system or Path Magic.
Old 01-23-2019, 10:51 AM   #4
Shostak