Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Other Munchkin Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2012, 07:12 PM   #1
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Main player escapes combat leaving helper

Due to recent changes to the rules, I wanted to confirm what happens when the turn player skips out on a combat using a teleport, leaving the Helper behind.

In this thread, it was ruled that the Helper must lose the combat, taking the hit and Running Away. However, the rules that led to this ruling have recently been rewritten and no longer seem to support this opinion.

The "Where'd Those Monsters Go" box on page 8 of the rules now states:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munchkin Quest Rules
If all of the monsters or the current player’s pawn are removed from the room, the combat is over. All “usable once only” cards used in the fight are discarded. All monster enhancer cards stay with the monster they were played on.
The bolded part used to say "all the munchkins," which supported the old ruling, as the combat wouldn't end if the Helper remained. The new rules seem to tell us exactly what to do now when the main munchkin leaves before combat ends, though. Just discard the one-shots and leave the monsters and Helper in the room without requiring the Helper to take hits or Run Away.

So, may I please ask for a reruling on this situation, taking into account the new wording?
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 08-05-2012 at 07:15 PM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 07:29 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Main player escapes combat leaving helper

That thread is two years old. We revised the rules after that point. Therefore, that thread is now outdated.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:24 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Main player escapes combat leaving helper

Thanks, Andrew. Nice to get confirmation as I think that might be the most recent thread on the issue, and I hadn't noticed the difference in the rules until this morning.

I actually thought the online one was the same version as mine as the date on the Rules page matches the date of my printing (3rd), so I didn't even realise that there was any errata to check out.

Edit: Ah, I see it was also addressed in the what to include in the FAQ thread more recently than the older thread. I hadn't read through that one in a while.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 08-05-2012 at 08:29 PM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.