Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (http://forums.sjgames.com/index.php)
-   Munchkin (http://forums.sjgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock (http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=65938)

Elite 01-11-2010 09:46 AM

Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock
 
Can a human make a level 1 - 5 monster its pet and then use a monster enhancer such as Humongous on it when using it as a bonus to fight other monsters?

Jarlaxle 01-11-2010 11:56 AM

Re: Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock
 
I don't have the epic rules in front of me but I'm pretty sure I remember this one pretty well. The Pet Rocks humans get can be thrown into combat for either side later in the game. If it is used against monsters, it's basically a one-shot item that counts as the Pet Rock's base level without being able to pump it up. If you throw it against a munchkin it's treated as a wandering monster with the levels, abilities, and rewards/bad stuff and I believe it can be enhanced if it is used AGAINST munchkins in combat but not to HELP them.

MunchkinMan 01-11-2010 01:05 PM

Re: Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock
 
It's not a Pet Rock, but a Monster pet. The name of the power is Pets Rock, yes, but that doesn't make the Monster pet a pet rock. . .

At any rate, otherwise, you are correct: It's either a bonus equal to the Monster's Level if played to aid a player, or a Wandering Monster (without needing a WM card) if it's played against the players.

Jarlaxle 01-11-2010 02:09 PM

Re: Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MunchkinMan (Post 912639)
It's not a Pet Rock, but a Monster pet. The name of the power is Pets Rock, yes, but that doesn't make the Monster pet a pet rock. . .

Good point MM like I said I didn't have the rules in front of me, but I'm always glad to get corrected either way. :)

whassumattuh 03-18-2011 08:21 PM

Re: Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock
 
What happens to Monster Enhancers that were played to a low level monster when the Epic Human's Pets Rock ability is used? Or can an Epic Human no longer use this ability once the monster has been enhanced?

Andrew Hackard 03-18-2011 11:26 PM

Re: Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock
 
This is a very good question that I'll be sure to look into once I'm back on the clock . . . but right now, I'm enjoying the start of a long weekend.

whassumattuh 03-19-2011 12:07 AM

Re: Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock
 
Thank you for your help. A follow-up question. If there is a low-level monster (Level 1-5), and another player wanders in another monster, can an Epic Human use the Pets Rock ability on the low level monster? Thanks again.

MunchkinMan 03-19-2011 06:36 AM

Re: Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by whassumattuh (Post 1141055)
What happens to Monster Enhancers that were played to a low level monster when the Epic Human's Pets Rock ability is used? Or can an Epic Human no longer use this ability once the monster has been enhanced?

Unless Andrew disagrees, I'd see this similar to the Ranger's ability. Since in that case, Monster Enhancers are returned to those who played them, I'd say the same for using Pets Rock.

Quote:

Originally Posted by whassumattuh (Post 1141134)
Thank you for your help. A follow-up question. If there is a low-level monster (Level 1-5), and another player wanders in another monster, can an Epic Human use the Pets Rock ability on the low level monster? Thanks again.

I see nothing in that ability that implies or explicitly states that the Monster must be alone, so yes, you can use the ability in the case of a multi-Monster combat.

whassumattuh 03-20-2011 12:42 AM

Re: Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MunchkinMan (Post 1141224)
I see nothing in that ability that implies or explicitly states that the Monster must be alone, so yes, you can use the ability in the case of a multi-Monster combat.

Thanks again for your time. One more follow up to that. If there is a Level 5 monster and a Level 15 monster in a combat and I am an Epic Human, can I use my Pets Rock ability on the Level 5 monster and then use it as a one-shot bonus to defeat the Level 15 monster? I guess I'm just clarifying whether I can use it in the same combat that I befriended the monster in.

MunchkinMan 03-20-2011 07:27 AM

Re: Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by whassumattuh (Post 1141706)
Thanks again for your time. One more follow up to that. If there is a Level 5 monster and a Level 15 monster in a combat and I am an Epic Human, can I use my Pets Rock ability on the Level 5 monster and then use it as a one-shot bonus to defeat the Level 15 monster? I guess I'm just clarifying whether I can use it in the same combat that I befriended the monster in.

As before, I see no explicit or implicit restriction against what you're asking, so, yes, you can use it as soon as you get it.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.