Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (http://forums.sjgames.com/index.php)
-   Other Munchkin Games (http://forums.sjgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=86)
-   -   Charity / dropping card (http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=119621)

kwiizu 11-15-2013 04:43 AM

Charity / dropping card
 
Hey Everyone,

It's a rule I don't understand and hope I can get help with.

The rule, when you have 5card in your hand end for you turn "you must" give it to lowest lvl.
But it's also a rule that says you can drop items
Does it mean I can drop item before charity phase enters or do charity rule overrides it?

Andrew Hackard 11-15-2013 04:55 AM

Re: Charity / dropping card
 
You can drop items before the end of your turn, so if you can drop enough to avoid Charity, you can do that. However, if someone else moves into your room before you start your next turn, they can pick up those items. And if there's a monster in your room at the start of your turn, you can't pick those items back up unless you kill the monster first.

kwiizu 11-15-2013 05:12 AM

Re: Charity / dropping card
 
Thanks alot!

MunchkinMan 11-15-2013 08:30 AM

Re: Charity / dropping card
 
Just to be clear: Dropping Items only applies to Items in play, not Item cards in your hand. However, you can drop one or both of the Items in your Pack (which is for holding two unused Slot and Hand Items), then put Items from your hand into your Pack, then drop those Items along with the others you previously dropped, and so on. Also, remember that there's no limit to the number of Clothing, Shinies, and Items that would go on your Belt (e.g., Scrolls and Potions), so you don't have to drop those to put another in play.

For documented proof of that, we have the 5th paragraph of the Items section, last sentence (just before the box about Gold Coins): "You cannot drop or discard an Item from your hand."

Pierpaolo 11-10-2019 03:51 AM

Re: Charity / dropping card
 
But if i put those items (that i dont want/need) in play ( so the cards of those items are now on the table, in beg, belt...) can i sell those items when i want during my round instead to make charity? (for example to buy a level)?

Andrew Hackard 11-26-2019 11:12 AM

Re: Charity / dropping card
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Pierpaolo (Post 2294575)
But if i put those items (that i dont want/need) in play ( so the cards of those items are now on the table, in beg, belt...) can i sell those items when i want during my round instead to make charity? (for example to buy a level)?

Since the rules don't say you can't sell items from the table, and since the wording of the rule is pretty closely parallel to Munchkin's rule, I'm going to say selling for a level to avoid Charity is fine.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.