Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2012, 02:03 PM   #1
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Annihilation and the seventh Seal

I was reading the just-posted rules to Munchkin Apocalyse and noticed the rule that you can't cancel the opening of the seventh Seal. It gives two definitions, one saying that once the seventh Seal is opened, the game ends immediately. The other saying that you can't cancel the card that opened the seventh Seal.

Annihilation can cancel a card when it is played, before it actually does anything, though. Thus, I'm not sure whether a card that would open the seventh Seal is excluded from being a target of Annihilation or not. Is the clause in the rules meant to exclude cancelling any card that would open the seventh Seal, or is it only saying you can't use cards that could cancel the opening of a Seal?

What if the opening of the seventh Seal were dependent on a die roll, such as the one you make at the start of your turn when blending? Could you use a Loaded Die or Reloaded Die (whichever is appropriate) to stop the seventh Seal opening?

Also, is it possible to Annihilate a Seal card itself? Not the seventh one, of course, but if there are 6 or less, could you remove one from the game, thus closing it? I assume they aren't considered to be in play, so I'd guess no, but it's worth asking.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 11-08-2012 at 02:08 PM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 02:57 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Annihilation and the seventh Seal

The Seventh Seal trumps Annihilation. Seals cannot be Annihilated.

A (Re)Loaded Die could prevent a Seal opening in a blended game, since the Seal only opens based on the die roll.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:11 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Annihilation and the seventh Seal

Thanks Andrew. Are you saying the card that would open the seventh Seal also trumps Annihilation, though? Say, for example, somebody played a Disaster that would open the final Seal and I play Annihilation immediately to cancel any card that was just played as a reaction (due to Annihilation having that special effect of cancelling the play of a card). It seems that would be similar to the die roll situation as the seal only opens if the card is not annihilated.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 11-08-2012 at 03:16 PM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:36 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Annihilation and the seventh Seal

The card that causes the opening of the Seventh Seal cannot be Annihilated.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:45 PM   #5
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Annihilation and the seventh Seal

Thanks. I think I have it all straight now.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 03:21 AM   #6
Heegu
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Re: Annihilation and the seventh Seal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
The card that causes the opening of the Seventh Seal cannot be Annihilated.
This covers all other cards of similar type (such as medicine show) right?
Heegu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:34 AM   #7
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Annihilation and the seventh Seal

Can I use Wishing Ring to cancel such Disaster?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:50 AM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Annihilation and the seventh Seal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moldon View Post
Can I use Wishing Ring to cancel such Disaster?
No. The rules are explicit -- NOTHING can cancel the event that turns up the Seventh Seal unless it says, in direct language, that it can prevent the Seventh Seal. (Currently, the only thing that says that is the Ladies of Ragnarok bookmark, and you have to destroy it to invoke that effect.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:16 AM   #9
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Annihilation and the seventh Seal

Can I Annihilate a monster with "open a seal" in BadStuff before fight begin? before escape roll?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:04 AM   #10
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Annihilation and the seventh Seal

If there's a conditional "Open a Seal" effect and that condition hasn't yet triggered, then the Seventh Seal hasn't been opened and the rules around it aren't yet in play. Once the condition DOES trigger, however, no takebacks.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.