Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2012, 09:26 PM   #1
gooliez
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Polymorph Potion

if you close a fight with a polymorph potion, do you go up a level ?
(there are no other creatures in play)

most cards specifically state that "you do not gain a level" where as this doesnt mention it..
i used it on a lvl 28 odd monster, when i'm on level 9. Does this win me the game ?
gooliez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:52 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Polymorph Potion

Using such a card does not count as killing a Monster unless it specifically says so. Since the card does not, you did not kill the Monster by using it, so you don't go up a Level.

The rules say, "If your combat strength totals more than the monster’s, you kill it and go up a level[,]" and, "Sometimes a card, or a Class or Race power, will let you get rid of the monster without killing it. This is still “winning,” but you don’t get a level." Regardless of what text you might consider to be missing from Pollymorph Potion, the above quoted rules cover that situation.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:59 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Polymorph Potion

You only go up levels if you kill a monster. The Pollymorph Potion clearly states that the monster, now a parrot, flies away unharmed. Thus, you are not killing anything and you will not gain a level for using it.

Using Pollymorph Potion also doesn't "close" a combat, even if you use it on the only monster. There is still reasonable time for somebody to use Wandering Monster to add a new monster to the combat.

Finally, there is no way I can think of that would ever give you a monster at Level 28. You probably meant a monster of combat strength 28. Its Level typically remains at the value printed on the card with the combat strength being the total of the monster's Level and any bonuses it may have.

Edit: Oops, got distracted while writing the post and MM beat me to it. Oh well, here's a second opinion, I guess.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:42 PM   #4
gooliez
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Re: Polymorph Potion

thanks guys

sometimes reading through the rules you miss stuff, no matter how many times you read it.. lol

(yes i did mean combat bonus of 28 ;) )
gooliez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.