Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 09:26 PM   #1
lastlostboy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Ghoulfiends Question, Fighting with another monster in play.

Ok, so I was playing munchkin with some friends tonight. Pretty much everyone was at level 9 so it was just a matter of time.

One player (lvl 9, lots of equipment) drew a really low level monster, someone else gave the monster a bonus and I threw out a Ghoulfiends with a wandering monster card. The ghoulfiends say that you have to beat them with only your level.

To win a fight against more then one monster you have to be able to beat their combined levels.

He said that he could beat the ghoulfiend with his level 9 vs 8, and then could kill the lowbie using his items.

To me it seems like that means breaking them up into a fight one on one instead of combining them.

I feel like because you can't use your items to attack the ghoulfiend, you can't use them to attack the other monster.

He said that would make the fight impossible to win, and that they aren't supposed to be impossible, you're supposed to be able to win fights either with level or items.

So we argued in a typical munchkin fashion over the vague rules, in the end he got a lvl 9 elf to help him and they both won.

Does anyone else have an opinion on monster effects when facing more then one?
lastlostboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:44 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Ghoulfiends Question, Fighting with another monster in play.

Your friend was wrong. You face the Monsters together. You can not separate them and fight one Monster one way and another Monster another way. So, if a Monster has a strength or weakness (in this case, a strengths that is a resistance to your Items) that affects the combat, then it affects the entire combat.

This FAQ entry covers it:

Quote:
Originally Posted by The FAQ
Q. What about during the combat? You said they fight side by side. Does that mean if one monster is affected (positively or negatively) by fire/flame weapons that all of them are?
A. Exactly. A monster's immunity (or weakness) is given to all others in the fight. (This does not include straight combat bonuses or penalties; if one monster gets a -2, that doesn't mean EVERY monster has a cumulative -2 – it's -2 for the monsters taken as a group. And if a monster won't fight, that doesn't mean EVERY monster won't fight, just that one.) If it helps, think of the combat as a combined encounter, and the various immunities or weaknesses as conditions affecting the encounter.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
combat, effects, ghoulfiends, monster, rules

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.