Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2012, 07:16 PM   #1
Solobyrd
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Cleric Resurrection

I really dont understand the ability of clerics and using the ability on kicking open the door and having 1 card in hand how does it work in that kind of scenario please help do they get the top card or any card and does that go to your hand or is it their new door?
Solobyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:39 PM   #2
Solobyrd
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Re: Cleric Resurrection

Nvm guys as i now understand it the cleric can use resurrection on kick open the door they pick 1 of those doors in the discard pile and then play the chosen card it becomes their door and then they discard a card from their hand to power the resurrection and their turn goes on from there. And if used during help with treasures they may draw up to as many treasures from the treasure discards as long as they can discard per card they took from the pile and then pull face up remainder treasures from the deck is this correct? An answer from the moderator or Czar would really help me in this
Solobyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:38 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Cleric Resurrection

Yes, that's correct. Your description agrees with the previous rulings we've been given by Erik and Andrew. Here's one that describes it very concisely.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 11:05 PM   #4
Solobyrd
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Re: Cleric Resurrection

So do they get to pick the discard or draw off the top of the discard pile? Just to clarify
Solobyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 12:11 AM   #5
DoomedDuck
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Macon, GA
Default Re: Cleric Resurrection

Off the top of the discard pile.
DoomedDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 09:53 AM   #6
bstanley52
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Re: Cleric Resurrection

As a newbie I am still uncertain WHEN a Cleric would want to use this ability. Obviously you can only use it after you've been helped in combat. But we play with the discards face down. So the idea is that you should be remembering the cards well enough to want to do this? It seems like a less useful skill (since you must be drawing face-up) then say the discard-using skills of the Thief, Wizard, or Warrior...

Thoughts?
bstanley52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:20 AM   #7
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Cleric Resurrection

Discard piles are supposed to be face-up.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:11 AM   #8
bstanley52
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Re: Cleric Resurrection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
Discard piles are supposed to be face-up.
Well, that is not explicitly stated in the rules... but okay...
bstanley52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:18 AM   #9
DoomedDuck
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Macon, GA
Default Re: Cleric Resurrection

Quote:
Originally Posted by bstanley52 View Post
Well, that is not explicitly stated in the rules... but okay...
Actually, it is. First sentence under "Card Management" on the first page.

http://www.worldofmunchkin.com/rules/munchkin_rules.pdf

Last edited by DoomedDuck; 09-19-2012 at 11:21 AM.
DoomedDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:40 AM   #10
bstanley52
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Re: Cleric Resurrection

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomedDuck View Post
Actually, it is. First sentence under "Card Management" on the first page.

http://www.worldofmunchkin.com/rules/munchkin_rules.pdf
Hmm... I don't have my rules nearby. Glad to see they are available online and looking at the rules for the game I have (Deluxe) I see that it is not explicit.

http://www.worldofmunchkin.com/rules/deluxe_rules.pdf

Maybe that should be entered as an official errata?

Anyways... I still would like to know when this would be worth it. I am having a hard time imaging when I would want to do this since there could be just as good treasures coming. Do you only do this when you want that GUAL card? Or a specific item?

Also, is there ever a situation where you would be drawing Door cards faceup and be able to use the Resurrection ability to discard. The thingie says "When it is time for you to draw cards face-up, you may instead take some or all from the top of the appropriate discard pile." Sort of implying that this might happen from the Door pile as well.
bstanley52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cleric, kick, open, resurrection

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.