Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2012, 03:27 PM   #1
jraggio
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default Hoard Question

This is the last one for today, I swear. Thanks in advance for everyone's help answering or confirming our assumptions.

Hoard reads, "Draw 3 more treasure cards immediately. They are face down if you drew this card face down, otherwise they are face up."

Is this kind of like a positive curse in that if you draw it when getting treasure you have to play right away? That's how I understand it.

What happens if I get this during the opening deal or after I die? Do I have to flip it over right then and draw the extra treasure, or can it be saved for later?

I guess the rules for bribes would not be affected, though "first and last" may make that "last" treasure really wimpy ;-)

Thanks,
John
jraggio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 04:14 PM   #2
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Hoard Question

Yes, it's three additional treasures immediately. No matter when you draw it. As soon as you see it, play it.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 04:24 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Hoard Question

And in that regard, it is different to a Curse. Hoard! and Divine Intervention are cards that must be played as soon as you get them, however you get them. Curses only activate immediately if you draw them while Kicking Open the Door.

And seeing as you mentioned the Treasure draws, you draw those Treasures for Hoard! before doing any of the Treasure distribution (so there will be two more Treasure cards than you originally thought).
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 07:05 PM   #4
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Hoard Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bampop View Post
Yes, it's three additional treasures immediately. No matter when you draw it. As soon as you see it, play it.
There is an exception to this, listed in the FAQ:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munchkin FAQ
Q. What if I have to choose between cards and one of those is Hoard?
A. If a card makes you draw and choose between cards, and Hoard is one of those you have to choose between, you do not play Hoard until you choose it as the card to keep. Then it is played immediately.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 08:38 PM   #5
thedag
 
Join Date: May 2010
Default Re: Hoard Question

so if you get it at the beginning of the game dealt to you then you draw three face down treasure cards.
If after combat it depends on if you had a helper. If no helper then face down (unless the monster says otherwise) if you have a helper then they will be face up before distribution according to agreements.
__________________
i need a good idea for my signature
thedag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.