Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2012, 07:00 PM   #1
Jarl Wilm
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default Escape Rocket in Munchkin Apocalypse

Is the Escape Rocket in Munchkin Apocalypse one-use? Reading the card, it seems as if it allows you to escape from whatever calamity prompted you to play it in the first place, but it isn't clear what happens after you use it to escape a particular battle or Seal. Is it discarded? Does it continue to be usable (which would mean you could automatically run away from everything for the rest of the game, which seems absurd)? Or is it useless, but still sitting there worth 600 GP for you to sell, or trade to another player who can then use it?
Jarl Wilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 07:30 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Escape Rocket in Munchkin Apocalypse

Discard it after use. If we have time before the second printing heads out, we'll look at clarifying the language in the next printing.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 09:41 AM   #3
helium_wong
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: Escape Rocket in Munchkin Apocalypse

I don't understand the "...or to avoid all effects when a Seal is opened..." clause too. How to handle the Continuing Effect on the Seal? This player can ignore that Continuing Effect permanently?

Thanks.
__________________
I am not a native English speaker.
helium_wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:07 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Escape Rocket in Munchkin Apocalypse

Quote:
Originally Posted by helium_wong View Post
I don't understand the "...or to avoid all effects when a Seal is opened..." clause too. How to handle the Continuing Effect on the Seal? This player can ignore that Continuing Effect permanently?
Precisely. If another Seal is opened and then closed, however, the Escape Rocket doesn't come back into play.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:40 AM   #5
Blazinjsin
 
Blazinjsin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default Re: Escape Rocket in Munchkin Apocalypse

I didn't realize you could permanently ignore that effect. This card just got even better
__________________
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻ I am King of Munchkin Mountain!!!

Check out my trades ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡) 🍕
Blazinjsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:18 AM   #6
helium_wong
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: Escape Rocket in Munchkin Apocalypse

If the Continuing Effect of a Seal affect individual action only, I know how to avoid it. How about Continuing Effect that does not target individual? e.g., the They Just...Won't...Die!! Seal, we have 4 situation:

1. The "escaped" player is not in combat.
2. The "escaped" player is in combat alone.
3. The "escaped" player is in combat with a Helper.
4. The "escaped" player is in combat as a Helper.

How about the Peanut Butter Shortage Seal, if the "escaped" player is the only Kid in play? All monsters still have +3 bonus? What should we do if the "escaped" player is in combat?

And the #occupydoomsday! Seal, if the "escaped" player is the highest-Level player? The second highest-Level player(s) have a -3 penalty?

Thanks.
__________________
I am not a native English speaker.
helium_wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:50 AM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Escape Rocket in Munchkin Apocalypse

Quote:
Originally Posted by helium_wong View Post
If the Continuing Effect of a Seal affect individual action only, I know how to avoid it. How about Continuing Effect that does not target individual? e.g., the They Just...Won't...Die!! Seal, we have 4 situation:

1. The "escaped" player is not in combat.
2. The "escaped" player is in combat alone.
3. The "escaped" player is in combat with a Helper.
4. The "escaped" player is in combat as a Helper.
In situations 2 and 3, the player would not have to put the Monster on the bottom of the Door deck. In situations 1 and 4, it's not his turn and he's not the one discarding the cards, so the Escape Rocket doesn't have any effect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by helium_wong View Post
How about the Peanut Butter Shortage Seal, if the "escaped" player is the only Kid in play? All monsters still have +3 bonus? What should we do if the "escaped" player is in combat?
All monsters have +3, but the player who used the Escape Rocket may void that bonus for monsters he is fighting whether it is his turn or not. If he is not in the combat, the monsters' bonus is unaffected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by helium_wong View Post
And the #occupydoomsday! Seal, if the "escaped" player is the highest-Level player? The second highest-Level player(s) have a -3 penalty?
Nope, because they aren't the highest-Level player.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 12:19 AM   #8
Nokomis
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: Escape Rocket in Munchkin Apocalypse

One of the things I love about this game is that the rules are loose, lol.

We came to a consensus at our table that instead of discarding it as you mention, that while the continuing effect is being avoided, the escape rocket should remain in front of the player and only discarded with a new seal. Or, while still in play, may be sold for GP (or any disaster/curse that removes, say, your most expensive item which could be the rocket) and the continuing effect of the current seal now effects you.

Does this strike you as a valid interpretation?
Nokomis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 04:59 AM   #9
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Escape Rocket in Munchkin Apocalypse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nokomis View Post
Does this strike you as a valid interpretation?
That directly conflicts with Andrew's post, though, as you mention. The card will probably be changed to say "Usable Once Only" or "Discard after use" in the next printing according to his post, which makes it a One-Shot Item. You have to discard it after playing it according to the rules.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 05:38 PM   #10
Nokomis
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: Escape Rocket in Munchkin Apocalypse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
That directly conflicts with Andrew's post, though, as you mention. The card will probably be changed to say "Usable Once Only" or "Discard after use" in the next printing according to his post, which makes it a One-Shot Item. You have to discard it after playing it according to the rules.
Except, as mentioned, it allows for the continued negating of the continued effect, if you discard the rocket then its possible to lose track that one was still under the protection of the rocket.
Nokomis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
apocalypse, escape rocket

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.