Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2012, 04:58 PM   #1
Fateros
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Changing / Discarding Race During Combat

As I understand it, a player cannot change, equip, unequip or use any items (with, of course, exceptions to one-use-only items such as potions) during combat.

I understand that a race can be discarded or changed at the Munchkin's choice. Does this mean, then, that this can also happen during combat?

I was unable to locate any specifics regarding this. If it is valid that a player can do this during combat, it wouldn't make much sense to me; how could a player not drop or equip an item during combat, but take the time to change their race / class?

Thanks in advance for your help - I love the game!
Fateros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 05:21 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fateros View Post
I understand that a race can be discarded or changed at the Munchkin's choice. Does this mean, then, that this can also happen during combat?
A player may discard a Class or Race at any time. A player may add a Class or Race immediately upon drawing or receiving the card (for instance, as part of Charity) or at any time on that player's turn, including during combat.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:48 PM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat

For reference to where this is stated:
  1. p. 6 of the core rules lists the "When to play" for Classes and Races, and it says: "These cards may be played to the table as soon as they are acquired, or at any time during your own turn."
  2. p. 4 of the core rules describes both character stats Race and Class, and those sections say: "You can discard a Race card at any time, even in combat[.]"

Those page numbers are valid for Munchkin and Munchkin Deluxe.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 10-25-2012 at 05:28 AM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 09:46 PM   #4
Fateros
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat

Thanks so much for the timely and official response, gents!
Fateros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 09:07 AM   #5
Fateros
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat

A follow-up question:

Hypothetical: I'm a level 9 Dwarven Munchkin who another player (level 6) has accepted help from. Does this mean I can change my race to become an elf after the level 6 player has made the commitment to accept my help, thereby winning the game for taking the winning level by helping someone kill a monster?
Fateros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 10:12 AM   #6
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat

No. You may play a new race only during your own turn, or as soon as you receive the card. It is highly unlikely (but not impossible,) for you to get a race card during someone else's combat in which you are a helper.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:29 AM   #7
DragonRider13
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bampop View Post
No. You may play a new race only during your own turn, or as soon as you receive the card. It is highly unlikely (but not impossible,) for you to get a race card during someone else's combat in which you are a helper.
WRONG! The rules specifically say, "You may play a Class or Race card AT ANY TIME!" ANY TIME, DO YOU HEAR ME? ANY TIME!
DragonRider13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 08:07 AM   #8
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat

Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonRider13 View Post
WRONG! The rules specifically say, "You may play a Class or Race card AT ANY TIME!" ANY TIME, DO YOU HEAR ME? ANY TIME!
You are incorrect, and your behavior is starting to become aggressive and problematic. Please take some time to cool down before making another post.

For reference, the rules for all the games can be found here. The rules for Munchkin say, "[Race/Class] cards may be played to the table as soon as they are acquired, or at any time during your own turn." They have said the same or similar for over 11 years. The same goes for anything like a Race or Class, such as Powers, Accents, Loyalties, Styles, Trainings and so on. What the rules do say is that you may discard your Race at any time. Perhaps that is where the confusion is coming from.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.