Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2012, 06:35 AM   #1
MrLeRobot
 
MrLeRobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default One-shot and items...

I went trough the FAQ but didn't come to an answer.

I was wondering if I was able to carry (on the table) some one-shot item. It would allow to free my hand of some lower level cards at the cost of others knowing I have such cards (and allow them to steal them too...). I'm playing mostly Munchkin Zombie (I think it's one of the most well balanced set...) and one-shot items like Marbles or Happy Face have a price and all that stuff like some other itmes... I read some people are playing like this but i'm not sure if it's in the official rules.

Thanks
MrLeRobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 06:50 AM   #2
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: One-shot and items...

Yes. You can carry as many small items as you want.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:01 AM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: One-shot and items...

And here's some quotes from the rules that back that stance up:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rules
You can also use one-shot items that you already had in play.
You may carry any number of small items
Anyone can carry any item
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 08:34 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: One-shot and items...

The important question is: Is this card an Item when I put it into play? Though Items all have common aspects: A name, an ability (most often a combat bonus) a size (though only Big is ever written out) and a value (including the words No Value), the value is the easiest to recognize. If it has a value, it's an Item card, and can be put into play, assuming there are no special rules about having in play (called carrying) the type of Item that it is (like Big, or from other sets, Steeds, and Ships).
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:02 PM   #5
MrLeRobot
 
MrLeRobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Re: One-shot and items...

Thanks to you all, it pretty much answers my question. It's gonna be a game changer, not having to keep all those +2 in my hand...!
MrLeRobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.