Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2012, 05:38 PM   #1
droosp
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default help .. lost in cards

New here and thank you in advance for the help. Wife and I have quite a few munchkin games and we have a friend over to play every so often. Here is the issue we can not decide on.. he tends to have numerous cards on the table powers cheat cards etc.. sometimes he will have 3 levels but anywhere from 8 to 10 extra power cards on the side.. is there a card limit as to what he can have on the table ? powers he is not using does he need to discard or just turn sideways ? we know he can only have 5 in his hand plus any armor footgear etc..
droosp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 05:55 PM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: help .. lost in cards

If you are talking about Powers from Super Munchkin and a few other sets (see the checklist in my signature), then that would be invalid. If you are just talking about a bunch of Items with powers (the game term is Bonus in this case), that's fine and quite common. There are limits for each type of card you can have in play and those are listed in the rules. Here are some of the common ones (note that most of these limits can be surpassed if you have an appropriate card):

Cards in your hand: Five at the end of your turn, but no limit at other times.
Race/Class/Mojo/Loyalty/Accent/Style/Training/etc.: One of each in play.
Powers: The total Rank of Powers that you have must not exceed your Level. If your Level lowers, you will need to discard Powers if you have too many.
Big Items: Can only carry one, so only one in play.
Steeds/Ships: Only one of each in play (and they carry themselves, so don;t count towards the Big limit)
Armor/Headgear/Footgear: You can have as many as you like in play, but you can only use one of each.
Hands Items: You can have as many as you like in play, but you can only use 2 Hands' worth.
Hirelings/Comrades/Mooks/Sidekicks/etc.: These are all the same type of thing and you can only have one of any kind in play.

The checklist in my signature also lists the limits for other card types.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 08-08-2012 at 06:09 PM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 04:44 PM   #3
droosp
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Re: help .. lost in cards

Thank you so much for taking the time to answer.. it clears up a lot

thank you again
droosp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:51 AM   #4
whitecloud197
 
whitecloud197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Default Re: help .. lost in cards

I would like a follow up with the "Big Item"

With the understanding that you cannot have more then 1 Big item in play unless you have a card or ability that allows it.

Your "Backpack" you CAN carry 1 big item in that correct?
So 1 in play on the table and 1 on the table turned sideways because you cannot legally use it ?
whitecloud197 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:58 AM   #5
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: help .. lost in cards

There is no backpack in Munchkin. That is only a Munchkin Quest term and there is no equivalent in the card game.

You are carrying all the items that you have in play. You can turn any number of the Items you carry sideways to indicate you can't or don't want to use them. Big Items thus count to your limit (of carrying 1) whether you are using them or not.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 07:01 AM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: help .. lost in cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecloud197 View Post
I would like a follow up with the "Big Item"

With the understanding that you cannot have more then 1 Big item in play unless you have a card or ability that allows it.

Your "Backpack" you CAN carry 1 big item in that correct?
So 1 in play on the table and 1 on the table turned sideways because you cannot legally use it ?
There is no "backpack," and we have asked many, many times in the main forum that people not use that term. Here in the 101 forum, we're trying not to confuse new players with terms that don't actually come from the game, remember?

However: The rules say you can carry only one Big Item, and defines carried Items as those you have in play, and thus includes Items you may be using. This means that each player may normally only have one Big Item in play. You can't use one and carry another because all your used Items are being carried anyway.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.