Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2012, 12:54 PM   #1
tragich3r0
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Need a ruling on a situation that occurred

Hi. I'm new to Munchkin and these forums, and need help on something. Okay, this is the scenario...

I was a level 9, and I pulled a monster I could easily defeat. No one enhanced the monster or anything like that. So, I'm thinking I just won. But then, my buddy plays a "Curse!, Lose a Level" card. Since we are both new to the game, I let him have it and played it like this. Since I beat the monster, I went up to Level 10, but since he hit me with that curse, I went back to 9.

Now my question is, should I have won that game? Or did we play it right by having me go back down to Level 9?
tragich3r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 01:01 PM   #2
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Need a ruling on a situation that occurred

The game ends once you go to level 10. Munchkin doesn't have a stack/response mechanism, he couldn't say "before you go to level 10, I play this card".

If he wanted he could have played the card before you declared victory, that would be fair game, though.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 01:03 PM   #3
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Need a ruling on a situation that occurred

If you declared that you killed the monster and advanced to level 10, and then he tried to play the curse, he's too late. If you agree that he responded to your declaration of victory within a reasonable amount of time to stop you, then technically, you went back to level 8 before killing the monster.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 01:19 PM   #4
tragich3r0
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Re: Need a ruling on a situation that occurred

Oh okay. Thanks for the quick responses.
tragich3r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 04:18 PM   #5
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Need a ruling on a situation that occurred

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonetm View Post
The game ends once you go to level 10. Munchkin doesn't have a stack/response mechanism, he couldn't say "before you go to level 10, I play this card".

If he wanted he could have played the card before you declared victory, that would be fair game, though.
And it should be noted that you are REQUIRED by the rules to give him a "reasonable time" to do just that before you CAN declare victory.

If that chance HAS already been provided, nobody did anything, and you declared victory, it is then too late to say, "Oh, wait, I want to play this curse on you."
Mister Ed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
curse, curse!, munchkin

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.