Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2012, 09:55 AM   #1
stix101
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Munchkin Cthulhu Question Cultist Card

This is technically two questions, but it is about the same action.

Everyone was level nine, and we were all cultists except one guy who had a cultist card not in use. The woman whose turn it was was about to defeat her monster, netting her the win.

The cultist card guy immediately used his card to make himself a cultist, ending the game. She then attempted to play O'Ryleh.

First: If everyone is a cultist and the same level, do we all win?

Second: Can O'Ryleh be used on items someone has just equipped? Like, for instance, the cultist card?
stix101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 10:04 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Munchkin Cthulhu Question Cultist Card

You can't play a Class card when it's not your turn unless you've just received it, which isn't the case here. So that wasn't a legal play in the first place. But let's assume he used Sudden Head Blow to make himself a Cultist, which would be legal.

1) If everyone is the same Level when the game ends, all players win.

2) O R'lyeh? can cancel ANY just-played card, including a Class card.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 10:46 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Munchkin Cthulhu Question Cultist Card

I'd like to add that the word "equipped" is not appropriate for something like a Class. This is because you become a Class, you don't put one on. Equipped is more appropriate to an Item, which you use, using the game's terminology. I'm choosing to be a little pedantic here since you can choose to not use an Item you have in play (i.e., unequip) and keep it in play, but you can't choose to not be a Class you currently are and keep the Class in play since you must discard it.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 11:45 AM   #4
stix101
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Re: Munchkin Cthulhu Question Cultist Card

Thanks for the reply, and I'm sorry I wasn't more clear. I meant the Cultist Membership Card, which is an item.

Although that is good to know about O'Ryleh.
stix101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 04:02 PM   #5
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Munchkin Cthulhu Question Cultist Card

If that card was already in play, I do not believe O'Ryleh could be used to cancel it. If it was not already in play, it could not be played, since it was not the owning munchkin's turn, unless the card says it can be played to the table on another player's turn.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 05:12 PM   #6
stix101
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Re: Munchkin Cthulhu Question Cultist Card

It was on the table but sideways. However, the card says "Whenever you wish" so we let him play it. It's... a complicated card.
stix101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 06:21 PM   #7
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Munchkin Cthulhu Question Cultist Card

Then it's a legal play and everybody won the game as Level 9 Cultists.

You don't have to turn the Cult Membership Card (the core set one, not the Promo card) sideways when you are choosing to not be a Cultist, you just keep it in use and state what you want it to be at any time. Given that you can put an Item in use any time you're not in combat, it's legal for him to do what he did anyway. Also, O R'lyeh wouldn't work as a cancel as the card wasn't just played.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:19 PM   #8
UncleTupelo
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Re: Munchkin Cthulhu Question Cultist Card

I hope this is the right place to ask this....

What happens to any subsequent class cards once you're a cultist? For example, on my first draw I get a cultist card - as the game goes on, I draw an Investigator, a Monster Whacker, and a Cultist card.

If I understand things correctly - I'm already a cultist, so I can't change my class, I can't "carry" the cards and I can't discard anything from the five cards in my hand?
UncleTupelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:30 PM   #9
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Munchkin Cthulhu Question Cultist Card

Yep, unless you become a Super Munchkin, those cards are stuck in your hand until you are forced to give them away or discard them via Charity.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 11:59 AM   #10
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Munchkin Cthulhu Question Cultist Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by UncleTupelo View Post
I hope this is the right place to ask this....
Sometimes, it's just best to create a brand new thread if your question isn't a follow up to the original question. That way, you don't have to wonder if you're doing something wrong.

Quote:
What happens to any subsequent class cards once you're a cultist? For example, on my first draw I get a cultist card - as the game goes on, I draw an Investigator, a Monster Whacker, and a Cultist card.

If I understand things correctly - I'm already a cultist, so I can't change my class, I can't "carry" the cards and I can't discard anything from the five cards in my hand?
Bear in mind that you are never forced to become a Class just because you drew it. So, if you didn't want to be a Cultist when you drew the card, you didn't have to play the card. It should just go into your hand. The only time you are required to become a Cultist is when another card says so and there are Cultist cards in the special Cultist discard pile, as mentioned in the rules.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.