Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 04-21-2012, 01:10 PM   #1
bushido8000

Default GURPS or Modern D20?

So I'm VERY new to roleplaying games. I've played D&D a couple of times and wanted to start playing something more modern. I've stumbled upon GURPS and Modern D20 and I'm getting really mixed reviews on which one is better. It's either "GURPS RULES AND MODERN D20 IS BORING!" or vice versa. So my question is which game do YOU find more fun and why??? I'm asking cause I'm trying to decide which game I should buy and don't want to fork over the money just to find out that the game is sucky haha
bushido8000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 01:23 PM   #2
Maz

Default Re: GURPS or Modern D20?

Well, since your asking on the GURPS-forum, expect to get pretty biased opinions.

Anyway. The main differences are that D20 modern is a class-based system where once you take a class you get to onyl so what that class can do. This might be beneficial to new GM's and players. O nthe other hand it can feel pretty restrictive.
GURPS on the other hand is point-buy where you can construct any sort of person (or creature) you can imagine. For instance you can chose to only be good at fighting, or not be able to fight at all.
Another strong difference in character-making is that in D20 modern you start with an almost blank sheet and bare minimum character. The character are very much alike and only through earning enough XP for several levels do the character really start to differ and become able to "do something". GURPS makes you create a fully fleshed out character that are what you want them to be. Not "a potential to be what you want". So agian it depends what you prefer.