Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2012, 05:32 AM   #1
chang
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default help with charity... thx

hi..

so I was playing with some friends yesterday and we run into an argument...
One of them (in a very munchkin way) will only help the other one if it had all the treasure (all 5 of them)
the battle was won and then we noticed that he had 9 cards on his hands. So the argument started. What it is suppose to happen?
a. He plays the treasure to see if he goes down to 5 or if not he does charity and then the game continue?
b. he has to wait for his turn t play this cards and charity is applicable. BUT then he has 9 cards to affect combat...
c. some other option

My side of the argument was that he can play the card that he just pick up, but ONLY those cards; he could not play any other cards from his hand in that moment. He helped in combat so the treasure that you pick in combat you can play right away or put in your hand (which for him ment having more than 5 cards) ... But then after he use those cards if he had more than 5 in hands... he does charity?
and then the next person in turn plays? (it happen that the person in turn - left to the person that started the combat - was on his right)

thx
chang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 05:44 AM   #2
Tomixcomics
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default Re: help with charity... thx

The 5 card limit only matters at the end of someone's turn, therefore, up until he says "Okay, I'm done with my turn", he can do whatever he wants(within the rules, of coruse) with whatever cards he wants. only after hes done organzing his cards does he have to worry about the 5 card limit
Tomixcomics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 06:15 AM   #3
chang
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default Re: help with charity... thx

well the problem is: that it was not his turn, it was the turn of the person that started the combat (he was helping in the combat)

e.g. player 1 >> player 2 >> p3 >> p4

p1 knock the door and start combat, p3 helps. battle won.
p1 goes up 1 lvl, do whatever he needs to do and finish his turn.
p3 take 5 treasure and end up with 9 cards. ..... p3 plays the treasure cards? any any cards and gos to charity if needed? .... ?

p1 just play, so is now p2 turn.

What is p3 suppose to do? how is the game suppose to cont? thx
chang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 07:42 AM   #4
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: help with charity... thx

As stated, p3 won't need to give any cards as charity until the end of his next turn (unless he plays enough cards to get back to his limit by then).
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 07:53 AM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: help with charity... thx

Quote:
Originally Posted by chang View Post
hi..

so I was playing with some friends yesterday and we run into an argument...
One of them (in a very munchkin way) will only help the other one if it had all the treasure (all 5 of them)
the battle was won and then we noticed that he had 9 cards on his hands. So the argument started. What it is suppose to happen?
a. He plays the treasure to see if he goes down to 5 or if not he does charity and then the game continue?
b. he has to wait for his turn t play this cards and charity is applicable. BUT then he has 9 cards to affect combat...
c. some other option
Let me see if I can make sure this is any clearer than anyone else might have stated: Charity only matters for the player whose turn it is. No other player has to worry about his hand size if it's not his turn.

Quote:
My side of the argument was that he can play the card that he just pick up, but ONLY those cards; he could not play any other cards from his hand in that moment. He helped in combat so the treasure that you pick in combat you can play right away or put in your hand (which for him ment having more than 5 cards) ... But then after he use those cards if he had more than 5 in hands... he does charity?
and then the next person in turn plays? (it happen that the person in turn - left to the person that started the combat - was on his right)
It is true that any Item cards he received from the combat may be played. That's in the rules. However, as I said, charity doesn't come into play because it is not his turn.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 07:58 AM   #6
chang
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default Re: help with charity... thx

oh awesome.. thx.
w didnt understood charity as only affecting ur turn.. we thought that everyone has to have 5 cards or less during the whole game :P
thx
chang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.