Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2012, 09:14 PM   #1
Gospel X
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default Warrior's unnecessary berserking - legal play?

A player was a Warrior in combat against a monster he was solidly defeating. No one played any bonuses to the monster. The player decides that he doesn't want to do charity at the end of his turn and so decided to play three cards to his Berserking ability before he declared the end of combat. He drew his treasure cards, had no more than five cards in his hand, and that was that.

Question: Was this a legal play? It was argued on the one hand that the player could not activate this ability due to its not actually do anything, but on the other hand there's nothing we could find saying that this is not a valid way to get rid of cards. The owner of the game determined it legal to move the game along. What's the official ruling on this?

I tried to find something about this in the forums, but I just couldn't. I apologize if this is somewhere I missed.
Gospel X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 09:32 PM   #2
PK
Assistant GURPS Line Editor
 
PK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dobbstown Sane Asylum
Default Re: Warrior's unnecessary berserking - legal play?

Sure it's legal. There's no rule that says you can't play a bonus if you're winning, just like there's no rule against some playing a monster enhancer into a combat where the munchkin is already losing. You can always make things better or worse.
__________________
Reverend Pee Kitty of the Order Malkavian-Dobbsian (Twitter) (LJ)

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 06:04 AM   #3
njals
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Default Re: Warrior's unnecessary berserking - legal play?

Sure can, in fact it is an extremely munchkinly thing to do, specifically if you good cards in your hand that you do not want to give to charity.

Last edited by njals; 02-17-2012 at 06:18 AM.
njals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 08:51 PM   #4
Gospel X
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default Re: Warrior's unnecessary berserking - legal play?

Thanks for the input, and those are valid arguments. The Warrior already seemed to have plenty of advantages, but the ability to discard so freely will make it a preferred class when we play with Fast Rules.
Gospel X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 11:45 PM   #5
snarky
 
snarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Snoqualmie, WA
Default Re: Warrior's unnecessary berserking - legal play?

In general, discarding just to power an ability tends to not be as powerful an ability as it seems on first blush, at least in my experience.
__________________
Fantasy 1/2/3/4/5/6/7-MGC,7-CWBH, MfD, FD, WfS, RG, SR, Reloaded, Munchkinomicon, Conan
Axe Cop | Booty, Fish & Ships | Cthulhu 1/2/3 | Zombies | Cthulhu Dice | Zombie Dice
Android Level Counter
snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 07:42 AM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Warrior's unnecessary berserking - legal play?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gospel X View Post
Thanks for the input, and those are valid arguments. The Warrior already seemed to have plenty of advantages, but the ability to discard so freely will make it a preferred class when we play with Fast Rules.
The ability is to discard up to 3 cards per combat for +1 per card. The Warrior can not discard any number of cards he wants. The Classes and Races are fairly well balanced, and though some might have seemingly better advantages, it really depends on where you are in the game which abilities are more advantageous.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 10:08 AM   #7
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Warrior's unnecessary berserking - legal play?

I would argue that the warrior is discarding 3 cards for +1 each just to up his level enough that nobody is tempted to play a monster enhancer. Preemptive defense. Not only legal, but pretty smart.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:42 PM   #8
Gospel X
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default Re: Warrior's unnecessary berserking - legal play?

MunchkinMan, sorry if you misunderstood, but I'm not implying that the Warrior can discard all the cards he wants. I'm just saying it's advantageous during a game using fast rules to be able to drop three cards so easily during an easily won combat. It's a clever way to dodge the charity phase, especially since fast rules can definitely lead to loads of charity - at least in my group.

And Bampop, it's a nice argument, but the player literally said that the cards were being discarded just to get out of charity. Everyone had already told the player that the victory was his, then the cards were thrown out to avoid charity. When called on it, he said, "Oh, it's a just-in-case thing." Regardless, it's a legal move.
Gospel X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 07:00 PM   #9
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Warrior's unnecessary berserking - legal play?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gospel X View Post

Bampop, it's a nice argument, but the player literally said that the cards were being discarded just to get out of charity.
Sorry, I just meant that's an argument I would make to get away with it if I got called out. I understand your friend announced his intent to begin with. Actually, I suppose that kind of gloating is very munchkinly.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 10:39 PM   #10
Palmer
 
Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Default Re: Warrior's unnecessary berserking - legal play?

The only thing you cannot do when you're already winning is Ask For Help.

Everything else is legit.

I only play Fast Play, and my games never have an issue with charity.
Either I sell or play sideways my extra treasure, play some spare curses, etc.

I can't remember the last game I was in where charity actually happened
__________________
MIB #5799 - Vancouver, BC, Canada, Eh?
CON SCHEDULE

August 24 - 26, 2012 - Cos & Effect, Vancouver BC
Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
berserk, charity, warrior

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.