Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2011, 04:20 PM   #1
donny_gene
 
donny_gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Waynesville, MO
Default Powers in Munchkin Bites

Are the ranks the level you have to be?
Also How many powers can you have in play at a time?
I wasn't sure because the rules for it just say you can play them as soon as the are acquired or anytime during your turn.
__________________
All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain
donny_gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 04:31 PM   #2
SmokeRulz
 
SmokeRulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Re: Powers in Munchkin Bites

Yes, Ranks correspond to your Level. Add up the Ranks of your Powers, and as long as they're equal to or less than your Level, you're fine.

You can have as many Powers out as you want, as long as their combined Rank doesn't exceed your Level. You also can't have multiple copies of the same Power, only one of each.

And yeah, you can play them (if possible) as soon as they're acquired, but if you decide not to, then you can only play them when it's your turn.

Note that these rules apply to all Munchkin sets that have Powers, not just Bites (those would be Super and Zombies).
__________________
Munchkin: 1-8, boosters/supplements
Zombies: 1-4, Dice, 1-3, supplements
Cthulhu: 1-4, Dice, supplements
Apocalypse: 1-2, supplements
Legends: 1
SmokeRulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 04:36 PM   #3
donny_gene
 
donny_gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Waynesville, MO
Default Re: Powers in Munchkin Bites

Sweet man. Thanks, both my wife and I were trying to figure it out.
__________________
All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain
donny_gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 06:37 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Powers in Munchkin Bites

Just to make sure it's clear: Being Level 3 doesn't mean you can play as many Rank 3 Powers as you want, it means you can have 3 Ranks of Powers in play. For example, at Level 3, you can have in play a Rank 3 Power, or a Rank 2 Power and a Rank 1 Power, or three Rank 1 Powers.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 04:32 AM   #5
malakav
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default Re: Powers in Munchkin Bites

the powers dont work as items right?

I cannot tap them to indicate when I cannot use them and just have them there until I get enough level to use them?

also when wanting to use another power I must discard either one in current use if I do not have enough level to keep them both?
malakav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 05:34 AM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Powers in Munchkin Bites

Quote:
Originally Posted by malakav View Post
the powers dont work as items right?

I cannot tap them to indicate when I cannot use them and just have them there until I get enough level to use them?

also when wanting to use another power I must discard either one in current use if I do not have enough level to keep them both?
No, they are not Items, and are not to be treated as such. You may only have Powers in play that you can use at that time. Your Level determines how many Powers you can have in play, you can't play extras, so you can't turn extra Powers sideways, and the rules give no indication that such a capability exists.

Yes, if you want to play more, you must discard ones you have, or have the Levels to support the new Power(s).
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 01:15 AM   #7
goodknite
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Calgary
Default Re: Powers in Munchkin Bites

Can you discard power cards, like race or class cards in the middle of battle? Say if you're going up against a zombieologist who gets bonuses from the number of powers you have?
goodknite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 01:32 AM   #8
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Powers in Munchkin Bites

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodknite View Post
Can you discard power cards, like race or class cards in the middle of battle? Say if you're going up against a zombieologist who gets bonuses from the number of powers you have?
Yes.

From the rules:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munchkin Bites! Rules
But you may discard Powers at any time and replace them with Powers from your hand.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.