Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2011, 05:07 PM   #1
Boaz Reinders
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default Orc card

I have a question about the description of the orc card.

The description is: An Orc who is hit with a curse can always choose to ignore the curse and lose a level instead - unless he's already at level 1.

some people here think that it means when you're at lvl 1 u cannot ignore the curses.

other people here think that when you're lvl 1 u still are able to ignore the curse without getting any consequences.

wich explanation is right?
Boaz Reinders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 05:47 PM   #2
Eben
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Dakota
Default Re: Orc card

Level 1 Orcs cannot ignore a curse.
Eben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 12:35 PM   #3
snarky
 
snarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Snoqualmie, WA
Default Re: Orc card

Because you cannot fulfill the requirement of losing a level, nothing bad would happen to you if you avoided the curse. Therefore, you cannot do so, because there is no cost to you.

This is different from the case of a 1st-level Thief, who must still discard cards to attempt his theft, even though he cannot lose a level for failing. He still has a cost associated with the ability, so he can exercise it.
__________________
Fantasy 1/2/3/4/5/6/7-MGC,7-CWBH, MfD, FD, WfS, RG, SR, Reloaded, Munchkinomicon, Conan
Axe Cop | Booty, Fish & Ships | Cthulhu 1/2/3 | Zombies | Cthulhu Dice | Zombie Dice
Android Level Counter
snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 03:19 PM   #4
Boaz Reinders
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default Re: Orc card

kk thnx:) I knew my english was better than that of my friends :P

we've been playing it for 2 months or something but some cards we're still arguing about:P

like with the high lvl monsters... some monsters has in their description: will not pursue anyone of lvl 3 or below...
what does that mean for a lvl 2? can he just take the treasures without having a fight? or does it means he can walk further without the treasures but he just don't have to run away from the monster?
Boaz Reinders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 08:41 PM   #5
SmokeRulz
 
SmokeRulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Re: Orc card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boaz Reinders View Post
like with the high lvl monsters... some monsters has in their description: will not pursue anyone of lvl 3 or below...
what does that mean for a lvl 2? can he just take the treasures without having a fight? or does it means he can walk further without the treasures but he just don't have to run away from the monster?
Both of those are wrong. You cannot take a monster's treasure without killing it, or defeating it with some card that says you also get its treasure. There's also no "walking away" from a fight. You either win the fight, or you lose it by running away.

"Will not pursue" only pertains to running away from a monster. If you're up against a high-level monster, you can attempt to fight it. But if you're not able to kill it, then that means you must run away. However, if you're Level 3 or lower (that means: 3, 2, or 1), then your run away attempt automatically succeeds. Roll the dice anyway, but the monster simply doesn't try to catch you, so you don't suffer its Bad Stuff. Keep in mind that other players can still use certain special cards to make your run away attempt fail, even against monsters that don't pursue!
__________________
Munchkin: 1-8, boosters/supplements
Zombies: 1-4, Dice, 1-3, supplements
Cthulhu: 1-4, Dice, supplements
Apocalypse: 1-2, supplements
Legends: 1

Last edited by SmokeRulz; 03-13-2011 at 08:43 PM. Reason: Forgot something.
SmokeRulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 08:54 AM   #6
Boaz Reinders
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default Re: Orc card

oh kk thnx:) this will change the way we're playing it right now big time:P
thnx for the info :)
Boaz Reinders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 11:53 AM   #7
Putney
 
Putney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Default Re: Orc card

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeRulz View Post
Keep in mind that other players can still use certain special cards to make your run away attempt fail, even against monsters that don't pursue!
Wait, if you automatically get away from a monster, and some one uses, say, flask of glue for example, would you not still automatically get away because the monster will still not pursue? I mean all flask of glue dose is make you re-roll, but I believe it has recently been stated that you do need to roll to get away from will not pursue monsters, but they will not pursue no matter the die roll.
Is this correct?
Putney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 12:03 PM   #8
ComBAT
 
ComBAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Default Re: Orc card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Putney View Post
Wait, if you automatically get away from a monster, and some one uses, say, flask of glue for example, would you not still automatically get away because the monster will still not pursue? I mean all flask of glue dose is make you re-roll, but I believe it has recently been stated that you do need to roll to get away from will not pursue monsters, but they will not pursue no matter the die roll.
Is this correct?
I don't recall where exactly I had read the clarity, but I believe I had read that because "will not pursue" is considered an automatic run away attempt, the Flask of Glue can apply and be used to force the low level munchkin to actually roll to run away.

Unfortunately I am not very good at citing any forum references and perhaps a more creditable source can respond.
ComBAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 01:48 PM   #9
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Orc card

Quote:
Originally Posted by ComBAT View Post
I don't recall where exactly I had read the clarity, but I believe I had read that because "will not pursue" is considered an automatic run away attempt, the Flask of Glue can apply and be used to force the low level munchkin to actually roll to run away.
If I've said anything about this issue, it's that you can, of course, waste your Flask Of Glue on someone running away from a Monster that won't pursue, and they'll just have to attempt to run away again, and succeed, because the Monster still won't pursue.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 01:52 PM   #10
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Orc card

There are some cards that say "even if escape was automatic the first time," or equivalent language, and in those specific instances, you must roll the second attempt. But you shouldn't infer that text if it's not there.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
card, description, mommy, orc, question

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.