Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2011, 04:44 PM   #1
Sunn
 
Sunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Athens, Greece
Default Rules about Mate and Illusion?

Hi, I'm new in Munchkin and I want to ask a question(s!!!) about these cards interactions.
Sorry if I'm not in the right thread, new to forum.
So...
Player A (he is a cleric) is in combat facing (lets say)Net Troll for the win.
Player B is playing a monster enhancement (+10) on Net Troll.
Player C is palying a Mate on the Troll.
Now player A has to face 2 Lvl 20 Trolls. Right?
Continue...
Player A plays Illusion and brings a Wannabe Vampire in the game in the place of the first Net Troll.
Questions...
The card Mate is still a Lvl 20 Net Troll or it becomes a Lvl 12 Wannabe Vampire?
Can Player A do the "bougha bougha" thing and chase both creatures? (Because the rules say they have combined strengths, weaknesses and abilities)
Or
Can Player A "bougha bougha" the Vampire and then fight the Mate (assuming it is still a Troll)?

Thank You...
Sunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 05:02 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Rules about Mate and Illusion?

I thought I covered this recently, so I did a forum search of "mate illusion" and found this right after this very thread. I love it when my memory works the way it's supposed to.

However, to cover the rest of your question: If you decided to use the Illusion card on the Mate, the Cleric can chase off the Wannabe Vampire and then fight the Net Troll.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 09:05 AM   #3
Sunn
 
Sunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Athens, Greece
Default Re: Rules about Mate and Illusion?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunn View Post
...
Questions...
The card Mate is still a Lvl 20 Net Troll or it becomes a Lvl 12 Wannabe Vampire?
Can Player A do the "bougha bougha" thing and chase both creatures? (Because the rules say they have combined strengths, weaknesses and abilities)
Or
Can Player A "bougha bougha" the Vampire and then fight the Mate (assuming it is still a Troll)?

Thank You...
Sorry for bothering again.
If the Players A decision is to use Illusion on Net Troll for Wannabe Vampire does the +10 enhanement stays or it fizzles?
__________________
Munchkin Fantasy 1,2,3,4,5,6,Conan Bstr, Munchkinomicon
I hope it gets better...
Sunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 10:15 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Rules about Mate and Illusion?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunn View Post
Sorry for bothering again.
If the Players A decision is to use Illusion on Net Troll for Wannabe Vampire does the +10 enhanement stays or it fizzles?
Since Illusion says to "discard ... any cards that have been played to modify [the Monster]," if you get rid of the Net Troll, the Monster Enhancer would go, too.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 10:49 AM   #5
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Rules about Mate and Illusion?

Then the enhancer would disappear from the mate?
Brf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 10:56 AM   #6
snarky
 
snarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Snoqualmie, WA
Default Re: Rules about Mate and Illusion?

From the thread linked by MM above:

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
Mate creates a separate Monster which actively duplicates the original. Illusion, the last card you referred to, can be played on either the original or the Mate (since they are both separate Monsters, regardless of the link). If you replace the original Monster, the Mate duplicates the new Monster.
So, if you use Illusion on the Mate, you turn the L20 Net Troll into a L12 Wannabe Vampire; the original remains in play as an L20 Net Troll.

If you use Illusion on the original L20 Net Troll, you are facing two L12 Wannabe Vampires.
__________________
Fantasy 1/2/3/4/5/6/7-MGC,7-CWBH, MfD, FD, WfS, RG, SR, Reloaded, Munchkinomicon, Conan
Axe Cop | Booty, Fish & Ships | Cthulhu 1/2/3 | Zombies | Cthulhu Dice | Zombie Dice
Android Level Counter
snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 10:59 AM   #7
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Rules about Mate and Illusion?

Oh. That is cute.
Brf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 11:03 AM   #8
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Rules about Mate and Illusion?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
Then the enhancer would disappear from the mate?
Mate is a card which represents a duplicate of another Monster in play. It doesn't have any cards played on it directly, so if you use Illusion to replace the Mate, the Enhancer on the original Monster goes nowhere, but now there is no Mate of the original, just a new Monster added by Illusion. If you play Illusion on the original Monster, any and all Monster Enhancers on the original go, and the Mate duplicates the new Monster introduced by Illusion.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 11:07 AM   #9
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Rules about Mate and Illusion?

So if you replace the original with an illusion, the mate becomes a copy of the illusion, but if you replace the original with a small bird, which flies away, the mate is not similarly replaced?
Brf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 11:11 AM   #10
snarky
 
snarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Snoqualmie, WA
Default Re: Rules about Mate and Illusion?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
So if you replace the original with an illusion, the mate becomes a copy of the illusion, but if you replace the original with a small bird, which flies away, the mate is not similarly replaced?
Correct, because the bird flies away, leaving no monster to be duplicated by Mate.
__________________
Fantasy 1/2/3/4/5/6/7-MGC,7-CWBH, MfD, FD, WfS, RG, SR, Reloaded, Munchkinomicon, Conan
Axe Cop | Booty, Fish & Ships | Cthulhu 1/2/3 | Zombies | Cthulhu Dice | Zombie Dice
Android Level Counter
snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
illusion, mate, wannabe vampire

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.