Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2011, 12:16 PM   #1
Magnalon
 
Magnalon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Placing items you can't use on the table?

The situation is simple:

Player 1 is classless, and raceless - he draws a +2 item that only Halflings can use - he claims that he can place the item on the table as long as he doesn't benefit from it, and does so to prevent him from discarding it, as that was his sixth card.

I would assume if you can't use an item due to a restriction, that it has to stay in your hand.
Magnalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 12:19 PM   #2
StaticHamster
 
StaticHamster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default Re: Placing items you can't use on the table?

He was right, he can play it to the table as a carried item, he just can't use it (it is best to turn these sideways to indicate that they are not providing a bonus)

You can carry any number of small items regardless of whether it can be used or not and only have one Big item (carried or used) in play.

Charity very rarely happens if you play your cards right.
__________________
I am nothing but a figment of my own imagination

Last edited by StaticHamster; 01-01-2011 at 12:22 PM.
StaticHamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 12:21 PM   #3
Magnalon
 
Magnalon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Re: Placing items you can't use on the table?

Wait - apologies, but just to be clear, he *can* or *can't* place the item on the table? And what do you mean by charity?
Magnalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 12:24 PM   #4
StaticHamster
 
StaticHamster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default Re: Placing items you can't use on the table?

Charity happens at the end of each turn.

If you have more than 5 cards in your hand at the end of your turn you must give the excess to the lowest level player (or discard them if you are the lowest or tied for lowest).
__________________
I am nothing but a figment of my own imagination
StaticHamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 12:25 PM   #5
Magnalon
 
Magnalon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Re: Placing items you can't use on the table?

Thanks!


------

Last edited by Magnalon; 09-29-2017 at 07:09 AM.
Magnalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 12:25 PM   #6
StaticHamster
 
StaticHamster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default Re: Placing items you can't use on the table?

Yes, he can put the unusable item on the table.
__________________
I am nothing but a figment of my own imagination
StaticHamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 04:43 PM   #7
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Placing items you can't use on the table?

Quote:
Originally Posted by StaticHamster View Post
He was right, he can play it to the table as a carried item, he just can't use it (it is best to turn these sideways to indicate that they are not providing a bonus)
It is not best, but required by the rules.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 06:00 PM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Placing items you can't use on the table?

Also, please read the game rules and the FAQ, which your questions make it evident you have not yet done.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 09:35 PM   #9
Magnalon
 
Magnalon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Re: Placing items you can't use on the table?

I'll read the FAQ, thank you.

Last edited by Magnalon; 09-29-2017 at 07:08 AM.
Magnalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 11:38 PM   #10
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Placing items you can't use on the table?

That was more snide than it should have been, and I apologize. I hope you find the FAQ useful; please let us know if you see ways it can be improved.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
faq, in use

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.