Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2010, 02:06 AM   #1
whassumattuh
 
whassumattuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Default Charity: Can the cards be given face up?

Say it's the end of my turn and I have too many cards. When I give a card to the player with the lowest level, do I show the card face up for the other players in the game to see?
whassumattuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 02:14 AM   #2
Eben
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Dakota
Default Re: Discarding

You do not have to, I guess you can if you want to.
Eben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 05:16 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Discarding

According to the rules, you can show people your cards. There's no legal reason you couldn't show the cards you are giving as Charity before giving them out.. Depending, however, on the group, the decision to do that could be considered rude, uncouth, or mean, so you might want to talk to people you're playing with about the issue.

Also, this about "Charity," not discarding, so I'm going to change the title of this thread to aid in searches.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 05:54 AM   #4
RevBob
 
RevBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Here on the perimeter, there are no stars
Default Re: Charity: Can the cards be given face up?

Speaking personally, I find it much more satisfying to give Charity face-down, accompanied by statements of how very useful they'll be. Especially when, for instance, passing an Elf card to someone who's already an Elf and is complaining that he can't draw any other Races. Ho ho ho!
__________________
Find me at @RevBobMIB * Goodreads

Looking for a St. Aosbczkcs medal.
RevBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 02:08 PM   #5
whassumattuh
 
whassumattuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Default Re: Charity: Can the cards be given face up?

Charity is given to a player who already has the maximum number of cards that he has able to have in his hand. Can this player wait until the end of his next turn to reduce the number of cards in his hand down to five or must he reduce the cards in his hand before the next player begins their turn?
whassumattuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 02:48 PM   #6
Signboy
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reno, NV
Default Re: Charity: Can the cards be given face up?

Quote:
Originally Posted by whassumattuh View Post
Charity is given to a player who already has the maximum number of cards that he has able to have in his hand. Can this player wait until the end of his next turn to reduce the number of cards in his hand down to five or must he reduce the cards in his hand before the next player begins their turn?
The player can hold on to those cards until the end of his turn. You do not need to reduce the number of cards in your hand to 5 (6 if a Dwarf) until the end of your own turn.
__________________
"If this isn't nice, I don't know what is" - Kurt Vonnegut's dad.
Signboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 09:11 PM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Charity: Can the cards be given face up?

Charity takes place at the end of your turn. That is the ONLY time your hand size matters (unless a card specifies some other time . . .).
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 11:22 PM   #8
whassumattuh
 
whassumattuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Default Re: Charity: Can the cards be given face up?

Thanks Czar. (c:`,
whassumattuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 02:22 AM   #9
RWBYWhistler138
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Default Re: Charity: Can the cards be given face up?

From charity my friend face down gave me a standie which i drew from him face down. The standie says if drawn face down u can turn aby monster into a standie. Does it apply since the charity was face down and drawn from my fruend
RWBYWhistler138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 06:54 AM   #10
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Charity: Can the cards be given face up?

No. Receiving Charity isn't "drawing" a card.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charity

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.