Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2010, 11:34 PM   #1
Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default Dead Mate

If someone plays "Dead"; "Dead broke" or "Illusion" on a monster that has a mate, do the effects affect both the monster and its mate?
Elite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 08:54 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Dead Mate

It depends on the card. The Mate is a separate Monster, so something that has an effect on one Monster, and does not resemble a traditional Monster Enhancer, only affects one Monster. I don't have the specific cards you reference, or my database, in front of me, so I'm not going to comment on the specifics of each card until I do.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 01:42 AM   #3
Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default Re: Dead Mate

This came up again. Answer?
Elite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 02:17 AM   #4
mawile
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Default Re: Dead Mate

by the way, would mate's "-1 to run away" work if one of the mates is already out of combat?
mawile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 07:11 AM   #5
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Dead Mate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elite View Post
This came up again. Answer?
Hmmmm. Perhaps, next time, you could find a more polite way to go about this.

However, Dead, Dead Broke, and Illusion only affect one Monster. For Dead, play it on the Mate, as it's easier; for Dead Broke, play it on either, but it will only affect one; for Illusion, you can play it on either: If played on the Mate, that will replace the Mate with a different Monster; play it on the original Monster, and you'll be facing that new Monster and its Mate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mawile View Post
by the way, would mate's "-1 to run away" work if one of the mates is already out of combat?
Well, as a matter of simplification, if you're going to remove a Monster that has a Mate, you should remove the Mate. That would remove the Run Away penalty right there.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 05-18-2010 at 07:20 AM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 07:55 AM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Dead Mate

Quote:
Originally Posted by mawile View Post
by the way, would mate's "-1 to run away" work if one of the mates is already out of combat?
What "-1 to Run Away"? I don't see that on my Mate card.

(Of course, I *am* looking at a printing you don't have yet . . . hee hee.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 10:52 AM   #7
morleydotes
Moderator Emeritus
 
morleydotes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Salem, OR.
Default Re: Dead Mate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
(Of course, I *am* looking at a printing you don't have yet . . . hee hee.)

Teasing, always teasing....


Pat
__________________
Salem Midnight Crew / MIB 1987 Or the Wrong MIB. Salem Cell leader, for the clueless in Oregon.
Ahhhh... I see the Screw-Up Fairy has visited us again.
Closed Captioned for the Humor Impaired
morleydotes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 01:46 AM   #8
u_f_o
 
u_f_o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Default Re: Dead Mate

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
for Illusion, you can play it on either: If played on the Mate, that will replace the Mate with a different Monster; play it on the original Monster, and you'll be facing that new Monster and its Mate.
MunchkinMan, can you explain why Illusion's effect differs from Dead one since Illusion also affects one monster?
__________________
Munchkino sapiens.
u_f_o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 06:02 AM   #9
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Dead Mate

Quote:
Originally Posted by u_f_o View Post
MunchkinMan, can you explain why Illusion's effect differs from Dead one since Illusion also affects one monster?
Because Dead removes one Monster and Illusion changes one Monster. They have different effects. If you play Dead on the original Monster, and remove the card, you have a Mate card floating out in the middle of nowhere with nothing to define it.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.