Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2009, 02:11 PM   #1
Udeliens
 
Udeliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brasil
Default Jollyboat and Dwarf

Hi everyone, this situation came out more than one time, so i decided arguing it.

In a game of standard Munchkin with both 'Munchkin Blender' and 'Munchkin Booty', what happens if you are a Dwarf (and can carry any number of big items.) and then you draw the Jollyboat (you can't carry any other big item but the jollyboat itself). So we were confused in what to do... so we made a house rule that one statement cancels the other one, so the player would still have the possibility to carry JUST another big item, and no more.

So what do you say?
__________________
Honestly. It’s the honest ones you want to watch out for, because you can never predict when they’re going to do something incredibly… stupid.
Udeliens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 04:06 PM   #2
Blu
 
Blu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Indiana
Default Re: Jollyboat and Dwarf

Interesting.

If you consider the race/class cards as rules, then we (Jherek and I) believe (and would play) that the boat would trump the race as cards trump rules.

But, if you argue that both of them are cards and trump the rules, then it comes down to which one has precedence. So, it could come down to whichever card gets played last is the one that is what is in "effect".
Blu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 04:50 PM   #3
Udeliens
 
Udeliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brasil
Default Re: Jollyboat and Dwarf

well, i kinda tried to imagine the dwarf on the jollyboat... if he's "on" it, it doesn't matter how strong he is, and how many big items he can carry, because the boat is still small and light, and if he carries another big item, even if he has the strength, the total weight will be too much for the boat, so the jollyboat would sink. :P

So, right now, i am guessing that the jollyboat rule overrides upon the dwarf rule, don't you agree?

I know munchkin is not logical most of the time, but sometimes we have to use the common sense right? ^^
__________________
Honestly. It’s the honest ones you want to watch out for, because you can never predict when they’re going to do something incredibly… stupid.
Udeliens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 06:23 PM   #4
-ScreenName-
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: U.S. (California)
Default Re: Jollyboat and Dwarf

Quote:
Originally Posted by Udeliens View Post
well, i kinda tried to imagine the dwarf on the jollyboat... if he's "on" it, it doesn't matter how strong he is, and how many big items he can carry, because the boat is still small and light, and if he carries another big item, even if he has the strength, the total weight will be too much for the boat, so the jollyboat would sink. :P
that's exactly what i was gonna say, i agree with you.
-ScreenName- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 09:01 PM   #5
StaticHamster
 
StaticHamster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default Re: Jollyboat and Dwarf

hmmmm;

Since this is the case for overriding bonus/penalties for running away it is a logical assumption and so I would agree that the boat would override the Dwarf ability as well until discarded.

However there are several instances that logic doesn't make sense in Munchkin, like if the boat doesn't have bonus/penalties for running away you use your racial even though you are still on a boat.

So unless the PTB overrule our assumption, this sounds like the correct answer.
__________________
I am nothing but a figment of my own imagination
StaticHamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 06:47 AM   #6
breakfast2588
 
breakfast2588's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Michigan
Default Re: Jollyboat and Dwarf

I believe that somebody (who may or may not have been Erik or Andrew, but I think it was one of them), has made it clear in the past that the card most-recently played has precedence.
__________________
Buwahahaha! My Epic Bard Class, coupled with a Crusty Old Prospector Sidekick, fighting against a Mated Ancient 5-Treasure Monster, makes the Treasure Deck disappear like MAGIC!
breakfast2588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 10:12 AM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Jollyboat and Dwarf

The Jollyboat overrides the Dwarf.

Dwarf lets you carry any number of generic Big items. Jollyboat has a SPECIFIC restriction that overrides everyone's usual abilities to carry another Big item on a ship. This restriction takes precedence over the Dwarf's power.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dwarf, jollyboat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.