Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2009, 06:03 PM   #1
ishinken
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default Wizard Charm: timing?

7. Can a Wizard charm a monster ANYTIME during combat or only before trying to kill it? Meaning that if he doesnt decide right away if he wants to charm it he cannot change his mind later if things doesnt go his way?

Last edited by Andrew Hackard; 07-18-2009 at 07:24 PM.
ishinken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 07:24 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Wizard Charm: timing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ishinken View Post
7. Can a Wizard charm a monster ANYTIME during combat or only before trying to kill it? Meaning that if he doesnt decide right away if he wants to charm it he cannot change his mind later if things doesnt go his way?
The Wizard may charm a monster at any time up to rolling the dice to Run Away.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 03:19 PM   #3
kleedrac
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Yorkton, SK
Default Re: Wizard Charm: timing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
The Wizard may charm a monster at any time up to rolling the dice to Run Away.
What if the Wizard declares he will attempt to run away but before he rolls the die another player attempts to make his escape more difficult or impossible, may he then turn around (so to speak) and charm?
kleedrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 04:33 PM   #4
ResidentAsylum
 
ResidentAsylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Indiana
Default Re: Wizard Charm: timing?

I'd say that once he declares he's gonna 'run away', he has to roll for it.
__________________
Never bring a monkey to a knife fight...

Last edited by ResidentAsylum; 07-19-2009 at 05:51 PM.
ResidentAsylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 05:43 PM   #5
Nixel
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default Re: Wizard Charm: timing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kleedrac View Post
What if the Wizard declares he will attempt to run away but before he rolls the die another player attempts to make his escape more difficult or impossible, may he then turn around (so to speak) and charm?
In the case of saying something, that corresponds with the discarding of a card or rolling the die, and not just saying something... It is generally ruled that the action has to take place first.

This is true for things like stealing, the steal doesn't happen until the discard happens for the steal, not when the thief says he is going to steal.

Saying you have to run away or are going to run away doesn't mean you are running away, you don't run away until you run away (which is rolling the dice).
Nixel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 05:55 PM   #6
ResidentAsylum
 
ResidentAsylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Indiana
Default Re: Wizard Charm: timing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nixel View Post
Saying you have to run away or are going to run away doesn't mean you are running away, you don't run away until you run away (which is rolling the dice).
I have to disagree... declaring the action of running away(I feel) is saying you are running away. Rolling the dice simply defines whether or not you are successful.
__________________
Never bring a monkey to a knife fight...
ResidentAsylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 06:27 PM   #7
StaticHamster
 
StaticHamster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default Re: Wizard Charm: timing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ResidentAsylum View Post
I have to disagree... declaring the action of running away(I feel) is saying you are running away. Rolling the dice simply defines whether or not you are successful.
I disagree with this however; if my opponent makes it impossible to run away BEFORE i roll the die I should be able to revise my decision since the situation has changed.

Of course this may be a moot point as I cannot think of a single card that affects a roll to run away BEFORE rolling the die....anyone have access to the card database :P

It doesn't need to be said that after I roll the die it is too late to change my mind since the die has been cast.
__________________
I am nothing but a figment of my own imagination
StaticHamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 07:49 PM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Wizard Charm: timing?

I would say that until you roll the Run Away dice, you have the option to change your mind. Again, though, not a cut-throat player.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 07:50 PM   #9
RL
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colorado
Default Re: Wizard Charm: timing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ResidentAsylum View Post
I have to disagree... declaring the action of running away(I feel) is saying you are running away. Rolling the dice simply defines whether or not you are successful.
It has been made clear in several recent threads that simply stating you are going to perform an action does not mean the action has started. The action begins when the card hits the table (or the discard pile). So in the case of running away, I believe the action doesn't actually start until you roll the die.
__________________
Check out my Munchkin trade post
RL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 09:03 PM   #10
Mizznox
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Re: Wizard Charm: timing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by StaticHamster View Post
Of course this may be a moot point as I cannot think of a single card that affects a roll to run away BEFORE rolling the die....anyone have access to the card database :P
After you say you'll run away, someone could play the "Chicken on your Head" Curse (-1 to all die rolls), or perhaps "Change Your Race" and you end up with Gnome/Halfling (-1 to Run Away).
Mizznox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rules

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.