Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Other Munchkin Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2008, 06:39 PM   #1
theskad81
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Default Move lost for selling big items

Hello,

let's say you already have one big item worn and you'd like to sell another one you currently have in hand.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rules
Every Big Item that you carry afterthe first reduces your
Move by 1.
and

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rules
If you put an Item into play that reduces your total Move below what you have already spent this turn, you may no longer move, but there is no other penalty.
Does it mean that doing so will reduce your move by one, for this turn only?

Thank you.
theskad81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2008, 07:10 PM   #2
mib2932
 
mib2932's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Isanti, MN
Default Re: Move lost for selling big items

You don't have to put the item into play to sell it.
mib2932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2008, 10:10 PM   #3
The Benj
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Platform Zero, Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Move lost for selling big items

Quote:
Originally Posted by mib2932
You don't have to put the item into play to sell it.
Pretty sure you do...

I believe the only exception to the rule that you can only use items that are actually in play is being able to bring One-shot items into play in the middle of combat instantly, to use them.
The Benj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 04:51 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Move lost for selling big items

The rules are not clear on this, whereas the Munchkin rules are explicit. Since the Munchkin Quest rules are not explicit that Items can be sold from the hand, we'll have to assume that they can't, for the moment.

At any rate: If you put a second Big Item into play, it reduces your Move. Once you sell it, your Move is restored. Your turn doesn't end because you ran out of movement, as there are things you can do during your turn that do not require you to use a Move. Buying a Level doesn't require a Move.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 05:41 AM   #5
mib2932
 
mib2932's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Isanti, MN
Default Re: Move lost for selling big items

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan
The rules are not clear on this, whereas the Munchkin rules are explicit.
I think they ARE explicit.

Page 5:

Quote:
At any time on your turn, except during combat, you can:
  • Play an Item card from your hand to the table.
  • Spend gold and/or discard Items worth at least 1,000 gold pieces to go up a level (see p. 15)
From this, we know that you discard items when "selling" them to go up a level. From the same page, we have - under the Managing Your Cards section - the following:

Quote:
Discarding: Many special abilities and deals are powered by discarding. Unless specified otherwise, you may discard any type of card, either from your hand or in play.
Since the section on going up a level does not specify otherwise you can discard directly from your hand to sell an item.
mib2932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 09:03 AM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Move lost for selling big items

As much as I'd tend to agree with you, I still feel that's reaching. It says to discard Items to buy a Level, not cards and you're quoting a section that says that if something that says to discard cards, it means you can discard any card. I don't see that completely saying what you are suggesting.

We have top men looking at this. What kind of men? Top.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 10:20 AM   #7
mib2932
 
mib2932's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Isanti, MN
Default Re: Move lost for selling big items

Sorry, the other interpretation allows for a munchkin to get an "extra" move out of a big item.
  1. Play all of your movement tokens (they're now all red).
  2. Play a second Big item.
  3. Remove one of your movement tokens (a red one, since that's all you have).
  4. Sell the Big item.
  5. Get a new move token (comes in "as if it were the beginning of the turn", ie, green).
  6. Use your green movement token to make another move.
  7. Repeat if possible.
mib2932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 10:35 AM   #8
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Move lost for selling big items

Please. Would you let anyone at the table get away with it? If they had 4 move, used 4 move, lost and got back a move for playing and selling a Big Item, they took their 4th move. No way would that work that they get back a new, green move token.

Now, I've put in my poke to the PTB, so let it go.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 08:00 AM   #9
theskad81
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Default Re: Move lost for selling big items

Quote:
Originally Posted by mib2932
...
Since the section on going up a level does not specify otherwise you can discard directly from your hand to sell an item.
I'd disagree: item's treasure card (with price?) played from hand and not yet discarded. Thus you can't sell from hand ... Like in card munchkin?

Originally my question had ment to be about regenerating move once trade's finished. What do you think, Is it regenerated as written in one reply? Or just lost...
A
theskad81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 03:44 AM   #10
The Benj
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Platform Zero, Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Move lost for selling big items

The way I track it (to avoid this kind of potential abuse):

If you put a second Big item into play, take one of your Move counters (green if you have any green ones left, red otherwise) and put it on the card. It stays the way up that it was before.
If/when you lose/sell/give away/drop the item (or your first Big item), remove the counter and put it back into your general pool, the same way up as before.

This way, not only can you easily keep watch on how your Move's been effected, you can't do silly tricks like the one discussed above.
The Benj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.