Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2008, 04:49 PM   #1
Xuenay
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default Cheat! card disagreement (Space Munchkin)

We had a disagreement about how the Cheat! card could be used, and agreed to defer to the judgment of the almighty forums.

My friend was in combat, and he was about to win the battle if we didn't do anything. I had the Cheat! card, as well as the Foof Gun. The Foof Gun says that if I use it to win, no levels are gained from the monster. My argument was that the Cheat! card very explictly says: "You may have and use any one item that would otherwise be against the rules". So therefore I obviously can use the card in the battle, despite the fact that he didn't ask me for help. After all, it says that I can use any one item, even if it was against the rules. He disagreed, saying that I could only use Cheat! to place an item on the table and use it. I disagreed, considering this an excessively narrow, unimaginative and unmunchkiny use of the card.

So, what do the folks around here say?
Xuenay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 05:06 PM   #2
Progmode
 
Progmode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi
Default Re: Cheat! card disagreement (Space Munchkin)

This has been discussed to death. The short answer is: You are wrong.

The long answer is: Search the forums and read the FAQ and you'll find out why you are wrong.
__________________
"Someone is, or is thinking about, talking to someone else about possibly doing something sometime in the future." - MunchkinMan
Progmode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 05:22 PM   #3
Xuenay
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default Re: Cheat! card disagreement (Space Munchkin)

Fair enough. Thanks.

EDIT: I did scan through the FAQ, but I don't think I saw it listed there.
Xuenay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 06:50 PM   #4
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Cheat! card disagreement (Space Munchkin)

The Cheat! card only cancels limitations to items regarding hands, feet, head, armor, race, class, Big itens, etc. It does not allow you to bend the rules to whatever you think is better. Its only use is: Can you NOT use an item because you are not a specifc Race or Class? Or can you NOT use it because you don't have enough hands (or feet, or head, or armor)? Now, you do!
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 07:24 PM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Cheat! card disagreement (Space Munchkin)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xuenay
We had a disagreement about how the Cheat! card could be used, and agreed to defer to the judgment of the almighty forums.

My friend was in combat, and he was about to win the battle if we didn't do anything. I had the Cheat! card, as well as the Foof Gun. The Foof Gun says that if I use it to win, no levels are gained from the monster. My argument was that the Cheat! card very explictly says: "You may have and use any one item that would otherwise be against the rules". So therefore I obviously can use the card in the battle, despite the fact that he didn't ask me for help. After all, it says that I can use any one item, even if it was against the rules. He disagreed, saying that I could only use Cheat! to place an item on the table and use it. I disagreed, considering this an excessively narrow, unimaginative and unmunchkiny use of the card.

So, what do the folks around here say?
Wow. That has to be the longest stretch I've seen in years.

What follows are the two FAQ entries for the Cheat! card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FAQ
Q. If you have the Cheat card on one item, can you move it to another one?
A. No. Once you perform the initial cheat, the card cannot be moved to another item. So if something happens to make the Cheated item legal for you . . . too bad. You can't transfer your Cheat to something else.

Q. Can I use the Cheat card to take an item from another player, or use it to search through the discard pile to take an item from it?
A. No and no. . . The Cheat card allows you to carry (i.e., have in play) and use an item you normally couldn't due to class/race/slot restrictions. In other words, a second piece of Headgear, a second Big item (for non-Dwarves), a item that requires a Hand or two when your other two are full, or the Bow With Ribbons for non-Elves. You have to get the Item some legal way, not by using the Cheat card to take it.
You'll note that explains what the Cheat card does, even though the question doesn't actually match yours. Remember, just because your particular question hasn't been asked doesn't mean that there isn't something similar that actually answers your question. And, since no one's actually asked your particular incarnation of the question, I wouldn't actually call it Frequently asked in this case. But, I hope the FAQ info there helps! :-)
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 06-10-2008 at 07:41 PM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 03:06 AM   #6
Xuenay
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default Re: Cheat! card disagreement (Space Munchkin)

Ah, yeah. Should've read the FAQ more carefully - I just read the beginning of the entries, decided they didn't apply, and moved on. Alright, thanks.
Xuenay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.