Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2017, 06:54 AM   #1
Isaac_Shepard
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Default Question about the tycoon (munchkin steampunk)

Last night I was playing with some friends and one of them had the tycoon class. Keep in mind he is a real stickler for rules and likes to exploit them for anything he can get away with. So, the tycoon class says 'once per turn, when you go up a level, draw a face up treasure.' He chose to exploit this by leveling up on anyone's turn (which we felt was exploitative, but we allowed it, though we chose to throw dice at his head for an a-hole move), then later, he interpreted the draw a face up card to mean he could draw from the discard stack. Is he allowed to actually do any of that? The rules have no specifics on it, and we tried to find anything about whether or not a player could do this. Many thanks for your responses in advance.
Isaac_Shepard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2017, 07:01 AM   #2
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Question about the tycoon (munchkin steampunk)

The first part seems legit by the actual wording of the card, but I'd be interested to hear what the official intent was.

The second part is not valid. When something instructs you to DRAW a card, it is always from the deck, not the discards. If you can (or are required to) take a card from the discards, it will be stated explicitly. The "face up" portion of that instruction simply means you have to show everybody what you drew.

You might point out to him that his reasoning would allow somebody to "draw" from the discards any time they had a helper and won a combat. That's clearly not intended, or the Cleric's Resurrection power would make no sense.

Last edited by Mister Ed; 07-26-2017 at 07:12 AM.
Mister Ed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2017, 07:10 AM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Question about the tycoon (munchkin steampunk)

You may use the rule on any turn if you happen to level up on that turn.

Mister Ed is correct that "draw face-up" means to draw from the Treasure deck, not the discards, and reveal what you drew to the other players.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2017, 07:28 AM   #4
Isaac_Shepard
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Default Re: Question about the tycoon (munchkin steampunk)

Thank you both for your replies, my brother was very close to getting smacked in the face with a bag of dice
Isaac_Shepard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2017, 07:30 AM   #5
Isaac_Shepard
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Default Re: Question about the tycoon (munchkin steampunk)

@mr ed, he was just trying to get more stuff, pretty simple really.
Isaac_Shepard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.