Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2007, 03:21 AM   #1
Domster
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default Gnome's illusion

If a Gnome summons an illusion in order to win a fight, how would a curse "lose your race" affect the illusion?

Is this considered as an ability that you lose, as an epic human has to discard a pet, when losing his epic feat? (see here)
- OR -
Is this considered as a bonus (which remains) stemming from a race-ability like berserking and keeping the bonus when no longer being a warrior (see here)

Last edited by Domster; 06-25-2007 at 03:27 AM.
Domster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 07:03 AM   #2
Deatheux
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: somewhere i can play my many games!!
Default Re: Gnome's illusion

i'm not sure but i ask the kindly same question for using the cleric ability(discard up to 3 cards to gain +3 against a undead, then i discard the cleric class to play the warrior and discard 3 others cards for a total bonus of +12(plus my level plus my useful itesm)) the response was(in the time) that the bonus aleready in play can't dissappear, but at the end of the fight, everything must be redealed.

so with this slice of life, i don't think that you lose the bonus of your Gnome Illusion, but let's give the last word to the higher power here!
Deatheux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 07:48 AM   #3
Domster
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default Re: Gnome's illusion

I know. That is why I posted this thread as link in my question.
Domster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 10:14 AM   #4
Deatheux
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: somewhere i can play my many games!!
Default Re: Gnome's illusion

so further that rule, i am not sure 100% that that rule applies to this one!, let's see if we'll have another spectacular munchkin turnover!!
Deatheux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 03:27 PM   #5
Jirtan
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default Re: Gnome's illusion

It's my understanding that the special abilities granted by classes and races persist until the end of combat, even if they are discarded. The only things effectively lost the moment the cards are discarded are "Usable Only By..." cards and monsters that have special bonuses or penalties to certain classes or races, like "-2 against Halflings."
Jirtan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 03:51 AM   #6
Domster
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default Re: Gnome's illusion

Can the MunchkinMan help us out here?
Domster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 08:56 PM   #7
Sabu
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Default Re: Gnome's illusion

Hi y'all,

I know this is a bit of an old thread, but searching around the forums didn't seem to offer any resolution to this issue. I was wondering if anyone has come to a suitable decision about this kind of thing.

The other night, some friends and I were playing a game and ran into this situation:

A Gnome was facing a monster, so she played a stronger monster from her hand to beat it. A fellow Munchkin, however, cursed her to make her lose her Gnome race.

So the dispute became: Does the Illusion disappear because it was part of the Gnome's powers (no Gnome = no Gnome powers), or does the Illusion stick around because the spell had already been cast (no Gnome, but the spell's effects are permanent).

Can anyone offer any help? Cheers!
Sabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 04:26 AM   #8
RevBob
 
RevBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Here on the perimeter, there are no stars
Default Re: Gnome's illusion

From the FAQ:

Quote:
Q. If somebody changes your race or class during combat (such as with a curse), does that change your combat bonuses?
A. Yes. If you quit being an Elf, you can no longer get a bonus from Elf-only items, and so on. You can never get the benefit of two races or two classes in one combat unless you have a special card that allows it. Powers driven by discards are an exception. If a Warrior had already discarded a card to get a +1 combat bonus, and then stopped being a Warrior, he would keep the bonus, but wouldn't be able to discard any more cards for the Warrior bonus. Yes, this rule can be used to the player's advantage. Hee hee.
Since you had to spend a card (namely, the illusory monster) to make the Illusion, I would say it falls under the "Warrior exception" noted above and stays active.
__________________
Find me at @RevBobMIB * Goodreads

Looking for a St. Aosbczkcs medal.
RevBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 08:06 AM   #9
ArcadianRefugee
 
ArcadianRefugee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Roanoke, Virginia, US
Default Re: Gnome's illusion

Quote:
Originally Posted by RevBob
Since you had to spend a card (namely, the illusory monster) to make the Illusion, I would say it falls under the "Warrior exception" noted above and stays active.
Agreed. While this may not be a discard, it is similar, in that it could only be played if you were a gnome. Just like the discard was only allowable because of the Warrior, but you don't need to remain a Warrior to maintain it, same here.
__________________
--
Kendel
ArcadianRefugee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 12:50 PM   #10
Munchkiny
 
Munchkiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Default Re: Gnome's illusion

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArcadianRefugee View Post
Agreed. While this may not be a discard, it is similar, in that it could only be played if you were a gnome. Just like the discard was only allowable because of the Warrior, but you don't need to remain a Warrior to maintain it, same here.
The Gnome illusion ability is a discard ability of sorts. Just like a Cleric would discard a card from her hand to get a +3 bonus against an undead monster, a Gnome is using a monster from her hand to use it as an illusion. I know it's not exactly the same, but regardless of the outcome of the combat, the illusion, and any enhancers placed on it, will ultimately be discarded.

Last edited by Munchkiny; 07-30-2010 at 06:02 PM.
Munchkiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gnome, illusion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.