Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2017, 12:32 PM   #1
kotya
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Grizzly Bear Bad stuff

Okay, his Bad stuff says that Sidekick(s) flee, but technically you only suffer from bad stuff when you fail the run away attempt, and during the run away, you can tecnically discard your Sidekick to avoid Bad stuff at all. So, here's the case:

Player A fights Grizzly Bear and loses the combat
Player A discards his Sidekick to run away automatically and don' lose two levels
Player B says, "hey, his Bad stuff says your Sidekick flees"
Player A agrues, "So what? I only should read Bad stuff if I failed my run away attempt, but I didn't"

Is Player A right?
kotya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 12:34 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Grizzly Bear Bad stuff

You can't discard your Sidekick for automatic escape after you roll. So either you discard your Sidekick before the roll or you roll and maybe lose your Sidekick AND two levels.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 04:52 AM   #3
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Grizzly Bear Bad stuff

But Grizzly says you CAN'T sacrifice your sidekick.
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 08:40 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Grizzly Bear Bad stuff

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moldon View Post
But Grizzly says you CAN'T sacrifice your sidekick.
You are correct - I should have checked rather than relying on the situation quoted in the initial post. Kotya, specific card text trumps general rules, and in this case, you cannot discard your Sidekick to flee.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
grizzly bear

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.