Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > Dungeon Fantasy Roleplaying Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2017, 09:48 AM   #1
tbone
 
tbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Does DFRPG convert damage adds to dice?

Say your maul delivers 3d+7 damage. Does that remain 3d+7, or can it convert to 5d?

I don't see any suggestion in the books for converting a big bonus into dice, so I believe the DFRPG way is to keep the above at 3d+7 (which means bonuses from Weapon Master, AOA, etc. stay based on 3d, not 5d). But let me know if I'm missing something. Thanks –
__________________
T. Bone
GURPS stuff and more at the Games Diner:
http://www.gamesdiner.com
Twitter: @Gamesdiner
(Latest goods on the site: Dungeon Fantasy RPG: The Notes (Part II) – a second installment of DFRPG observations)
tbone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 10:05 AM   #2
Kromm
GURPS Line Editor
 
Kromm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montréal, Québec
Default Re: Does DFRPG convert damage adds to dice?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbone View Post

Say your maul delivers 3d+7 damage. Does that remain 3d+7, or can it convert to 5d?

I don't see any suggestion in the books for converting a big bonus into dice, so I believe the DFRPG way is to keep the above at 3d+7 (which means bonuses from Weapon Master, AOA, etc. stay based on 3d, not 5d). But let me know if I'm missing something. Thanks –
The Dungeon Fantasy Roleplaying Game doesn't talk about that option, as it's a little too math-geeky.



Aside: Even in GURPS, you always convert final damage after all adds – flat or per-die. You never convert adds to dice and then add per-die adds to the new number of dice. This is one reason why the mechanic is a little cumbersome: You have to retain, for instance, 3d+7 somewhere, because +1 per die makes that 3d+10 (and then 5d+3, or 6d-1 if you prefer); if you choose to list 3d+7 as 5d, +1 per die doesn't suddenly make it 5d+5. This is most concisely presented on p. B269:
If a modifier is given "per die of damage," apply it per die of basic thrusting or swinging damage, before you convert adds to dice.
__________________
Sean "Dr. Kromm" Punch <kromm@sjgames.com>
GURPS Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games
My LiveJournal [Just GURPS News][Just The Company]
Kromm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 10:44 AM   #3
Kromm
GURPS Line Editor
 
Kromm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montréal, Québec
Default Re: Does DFRPG convert damage adds to dice?

The prohibition against converting adds to dice and then adding per-die adds to the new number of dice is for definiteness, not for stinginess! Suppose I have ST 21 (damage 2d/4d-1) and I use a maul (swing+5), for 4d+4 damage. I'm also a Weapon Master with that maul, and get +2 per die for that. And I'm making an All-Out Attack (Strong), and get +1 per die for that. Is my damage:
  1. 4d+4, with the per-die adds making it 4d+16, converted to 8d+2?
  2. 4d+4, converted to 5d, with all the per-die adds making it 5d+15, further converted to 9d+1?
  3. 4d+4, with the per-die adds for Weapon Master making it 4d+12, converted to 7d+1, then the per-die adds for All-Out Attack making it 7d+8, finally converted to 9d+1?
  4. 4d+4, with the per-die adds for All-Out Attack making it 4d+8, converted to 6d+1, then the per-die adds for Weapon Master making it 6d+13, finally converted to 9d+2?
  5. 4d+4, converted to 5d, with the per-die adds for All-Out Attack making it 5d+5, converted to 6d+1, then the per-die adds for Weapon Master making it 6d+13, finally converted to 9d+2?
  6. 4d+4, converted to 5d, with the per-die adds for Weapon Master making it 5d+10, converted to 7d+3, then the per-die adds for All-Out Attack making it 7d+10, finally converted to 9d+3?
  7. Something else I forgot about?
This rule makes 1 the right answer – and, as you can see, the simplest and most intuitive one.
__________________
Sean "Dr. Kromm" Punch <kromm@sjgames.com>
GURPS Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games
My LiveJournal [Just GURPS News][Just The Company]
Kromm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 11:13 AM   #4
tbone
 
tbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Does DFRPG convert damage adds to dice?

All righty. That's as expected, makes sense, and provides a definite clarification for all posterity. Thanks!
__________________
T. Bone
GURPS stuff and more at the Games Diner:
http://www.gamesdiner.com
Twitter: @Gamesdiner
(Latest goods on the site: Dungeon Fantasy RPG: The Notes (Part II) – a second installment of DFRPG observations)
tbone is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.