Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2017, 01:01 AM   #1
m2pt5
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Default Wandering Monster clarification, re: Suspended Animation (Star Munchkin 2)

Situation: One monster is in combat, another is wandered in, and a monster enhancer played on it. The first monster is removed with Suspended Animation. Am I correct in thinking that this does not affect the wandered in monster in any way, other than leaving it fighting alone? (As Wandering Monster is not actually played on the first monster, it is just played and adds a monster to a combat.)

I had a ~15 minute argument about this, where the other person thought it removed the other monster too because Suspended Animation says "If Wandering Monster or any enhancing cards were played on it, return them to their owners." I pointed out that Wandering Monster being capitalized referred specifically to the card, and thus that would only affect anything if it were played on a monster that was wandered in, not the primary monster from kicking down the door/looking for trouble.

Bonus question: Suspended Animation would not return one-shots that add "+X to either side" either, correct?
m2pt5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 09:41 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Wandering Monster clarification, re: Suspended Animation (Star Munchkin 2)

Wandering Monster, as far as that card is concerned, is played on the Monster that is wandered in. Suspended Animation removes one Monster from the combat by allowing the player of Suspended Animation to take the Monster into his or her hand. Any Monster Enhancers on the picked up Monster are returned to the players who played those cards. If the Monster was a Wandering Monster, then the person who played Wandering Monster gets that back, too. One-shot Items helping the Monster are not returned, as they are played to the Monster side.

So, in your example, you are correct. If you removed the original Monster, and not the Monster added to the combat with Wandering Monster, then the "wandered-in" Monster, any enhancers played on it, and any one-shots played for the Monster side will remain.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 11:28 AM   #3
m2pt5
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Default Re: Wandering Monster clarification, re: Suspended Animation (Star Munchkin 2)

Thank you. I was 99% certain I was right, but I wanted to get an official ruling anyway.
m2pt5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.