Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > The Network > GURPS Character Assistant

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2017, 09:56 PM   #1
Tigrah2k
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Default GCA issues

Hello everyone,

I'm not sure if this is in the right place, but I'm having issues with popup menus in the character assistant apparently appearing off screen. In the view menu, all of the options appear on screen but the "Loadout Manager". In the character creation windows, all but the edit windows seem to be ok. When I try to bring up the edit window of anything, from skills, to equipment, the window is off screen.

Some notes:
dual-monitor
Windows 10 system
quad-core 4 Ghz processor
Tigrah2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 11:54 PM   #2
ericbsmith
 
ericbsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Binghamton, NY, USA. Near the river Styx in the 5th Circle.
Default Re: GCA issues

This can happen when the window gets planted somewhere off screen, most often when you have multiple monitors and change the configuration somehow. If you do have multiple monitors try opening the missing window and then go into the Windows display settings and move the position of the secondary monitor around and apply, you may be able to find the missing window and reposition it onto your main monitor.

Otherwise the fix is to either edit the GCA.ini file to remove the incorrect window position (simply open in Notepad.exe) or to delete the GCA.ini file which will reset all GCA settings to default. Instructions for finding the GCA.ini file or deleting it can be found in the GCA4 FAQ.

If you want to go the route of editing the GCA.ini file once you've found it (per above) look for the lines which have Top= and Left= in them, i.e.:
ModsTop=
ModsLeft=
and set the values to 0

I believe the settings you're looking for specifically are:
EditItemsSimpleTop=
EditItemsSimpleLeft=
LoadOutTop=
LoadOutLeft=
__________________
Eric B. Smith GURPS Data File Coordinator
GURPSLand
The future keeps telling us what the past was about. You make the past mean different things by what you do with the time that comes after.
ericbsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 09:34 PM   #3
Tigrah2k
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Default Re: GCA issues

Deleting the .ini file fixed it. Thank you so much!!!
Tigrah2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 12:21 AM   #4
Tigrah2k
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Default Re: GCA issues

I seem to be plagued with issues of late. When I try to create a racial template, it gives me an error, and crashes GCA. I'll get a screeny ASAP, and get it in here.
Tigrah2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 01:00 AM   #5
ericbsmith
 
ericbsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Binghamton, NY, USA. Near the river Styx in the 5th Circle.
Default Re: GCA issues

No need, see here.
__________________
Eric B. Smith GURPS Data File Coordinator
GURPSLand
The future keeps telling us what the past was about. You make the past mean different things by what you do with the time that comes after.
ericbsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 10:39 AM   #6
Tigrah2k
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Default Re: GCA issues

Ok.
So, I'm creating the template and saving it as a file that can be used in GCA. How do I get it to where it's not adding all of the advantages and disadvantages into those lists - doubling the cost of the template?
Tigrah2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2017, 06:36 AM   #7
ericbsmith
 
ericbsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Binghamton, NY, USA. Near the river Styx in the 5th Circle.
Default Re: GCA issues

If you are creating racial templates or meta-traits for your campaign that you then want to save into a datafile you should just create it as a character then use Save As -> Character in Data File. It is by far the most efficient way for creating racial templates or meta-traits without having write datafile code yourself.

If you are creating a character and as part of that process you want to add a racial template to that character then you should use the _New Racial Template builder. Those builders are meant for "on the fly" creation of templates so you don't have to go through the multi-step process of creating a new character, building the template, saving it to a data file, reloading all your datafiles, creating another new character, then finally adding the racial template to the character.
__________________
Eric B. Smith GURPS Data File Coordinator
GURPSLand
The future keeps telling us what the past was about. You make the past mean different things by what you do with the time that comes after.
ericbsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2017, 09:40 PM   #8
Tigrah2k
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Default Re: GCA issues

I did as you suggested - creating a "character" and saving it as template. However, when I went in and applied it, I was double-hit on the points. The tempate was shown, and then so-to were all of the template components, with their costs.
Tigrah2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 10:52 AM   #9
ericbsmith
 
ericbsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Binghamton, NY, USA. Near the river Styx in the 5th Circle.
Default Re: GCA issues

Are you making the template as a character or are you using _New Racial Template to make the template then saving the character with a _New Racial Template as a Template within a Data File? Because you shouldn't be using _New Racial Template at all if you are making a template as a character.
__________________
Eric B. Smith GURPS Data File Coordinator
GURPSLand
The future keeps telling us what the past was about. You make the past mean different things by what you do with the time that comes after.
ericbsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 09:48 PM   #10
Tigrah2k
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Default Re: GCA issues

I did not use a template, while creating the character. I simply applied the Advantages and Disadvantages directly to the character, then saved it as a template once I was satisfied.
Tigrah2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.