Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2018, 05:01 PM   #1
Dancincoreo
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Default Clarification of Mate

Me and a few of my friends were in a debate on the use of Mate. I ready the below post from 2012:

"Igor has it mostly right. It is important to note that the copied Monster is a separate Monster that continually copies the original, so any Monster enhancers played on the original, either before or after Mate gets played, affect the copy as well. The original Monster is the only one of the two that should get Enhancers played on it, for simplicity's sake. Since it is a separate Monster, it can be removed by a Wizard's charm spell, or a card like Pollymorph Potion; if you kill it, you get Level rewards and Treasure rewards equal to the original; if you have to Run Away, you have to Run Away from the copy and the original separately, and the copy will have the same Bad Stuff as the original."

My thought process is exactly this. However, the card itself does not state it continues to gain the enhancements from the monster itself it just says "Another monster appears of the same Level with all the same Monster Enhancers. if the monsters are defeated, draw treasure for each and go up levels for each". So I want to play a +10 to the monster the mate receives the same thing whether to buff or de-buff the monster. Is that correct or does it just gain the level of the monster and the enhancers at the time the mate is played and nothing else enhances it?

Another question is, if the original monster is destroyed by, say, the Wizards Charm Spell, at the time its destroyed does the Mate KEEP all the enhancements that were done to the original since it or does the Mate simply go away since there is no longer an original to duplicate?
Dancincoreo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 01:05 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Clarification of Mate

Mate is always an exact duplicate of the base monster at that moment. Anything else leads to crazy bookkeeping.

If you dismiss the base monster, the Mate (as a separate monster) continues to exist, mimicking the base monster as of the moment right before it was dismissed. Because of this, it is WAAAAAAAAAY easier just to dismiss the Mate.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 01:08 AM   #3
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Clarification of Mate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancincoreo View Post
However, the card itself does not state it continues to gain the enhancements from the monster itself
Yes, but the Rules say so:

Quote:
Exception: Anything that enhances a monster also enhances its Mate . . . if Ancient, Enraged, and Mate are played on a single monster, in any order, you are facing an Ancient Enraged monster and its Ancient Enraged Mate.
Good luck . . .
Quote:
Another question is, if the original monster is destroyed by, say, the Wizards Charm Spell, at the time its destroyed does the Mate KEEP all the enhancements that were done to the original since it or does the Mate simply go away since there is no longer an original to duplicate?
It has been ruled before that, for practical reasons, first you remove the Mate
from combat, but that's an old rule. Hopefully, an official answer will come soon from Andrew or Erik.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2018, 02:55 PM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Clarification of Mate

Remove the Mate. There are very few instances, if not zero, where it would have a different impact. Personally, I can't think of any at this moment.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.