Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2011, 05:23 PM   #1
mejoshua886
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Reindeer games booster rules clarification

Here are some questions I have about the booster pack:

1) If someone plays a santa monster to help another santa monster in combat, can you play "Holiday Police" to make that monster a nonsanta and to unable to join the combat?

2) What is the Reindeer mentioned in "Reindeer hat"?

3) Can you switch "Festivus Pole" bewtween 1 and 2 hand? If so, can you do it during combat?

4) "Snow Shoes" gives a plus 3 bonus to fire attacks. How specific is this? Can you make up a story of how the monster you are fighting can breath fire?

5)Flame attacks do double damage to "Christmas Tree". Do items such as flaming armor(munchkin core set) count for this even though it is not an "attack"?

6)Can you play tinsel normally and them equip it to an armor after you get one? Can you do this in combat?
mejoshua886 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 05:37 PM   #2
Pookiebob
 
Pookiebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Great North: Minnesota
Default Re: Reindeer games booster rules clarification

5) Most cards say on it "it counts as a fire/flame attack." A card that is obviously intended to be on fire and has fire/flaming in the title, such as the flaming armor, also counts.

4) The intention of this card is that it adds a +3 bonus to your combat if you have something that counts as a fire/flame attack. You can't make up a story. You must have something that officially is a fire/flame attack.
__________________
Munchkin Deluxe, Demented Dungeons, MFD, Reloaded, M/E, Conan, Santa 1 + 2, Munchkinomicon,
Fairy Dust


Munchkin Overkill. >:)

Last edited by Andrew Hackard; 12-17-2011 at 05:37 PM. Reason: junior mod filtered out
Pookiebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 05:37 PM   #3
tigersteed13
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default Re: Reindeer games booster rules clarification

1 yes
2 It is just the flavor text on the card
3 You have to decide before combat what items you will be taking into the combat. You cant make the pole from 2 hands to 1 hand jduring combat if you go into combat with it as a 2 handed weapon then until combat is resolved it is a 2 handed weapon.
4 Any item you have that has fire or flame in its name or if the card says it counts as a flame attack count for snowshoes. When in doubt if the picture shows fire then you can argue that it is a fire/fmae attack.
5 yes any item you take into that combat that has fire or flame counts towards that fight with the christmas tree. wand of napalm may or may not count in my group we count it.
6 yes you can play tinsel for its bonus. As stated above you have to decide before combat what you are taking into the fight so if you dont equip tinsel before combat you cant add it to any armor you are wearing or cheating with until after combat is resolved.
tigersteed13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 05:46 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Reindeer games booster rules clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by mejoshua886 View Post
1) If someone plays a santa monster to help another santa monster in combat, can you play "Holiday Police" to make that monster a nonsanta and to unable to join the combat?
I'm not totally sure what you're asking, so let me cover a few possibilities:

a) Can I play Holiday Police once a Santa monster has joined the fight to kick it out?
No. Once the monster is in the fight, it's in it.

b) Can I play Holiday Police on a Santa monster to prevent other Santa monsters from joining in?
Yes.

c) Can I play Holiday Police on a Santa monster someone else is trying to play to make it not a Santa monster?
No. You can only play it on a monster that's on the table.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mejoshua886 View Post
2) What is the Reindeer mentioned in "Reindeer hat"?
It's a monster from Munchkin Waiting for Santa. (Brief aside: Waiting for Santa is out of stock at our distributors, and we do not plan to reprint it in the next year or two, so you may want to snag it now at your FLGS if you haven't already.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mejoshua886 View Post
3) Can you switch "Festivus Pole" bewtween 1 and 2 hand? If so, can you do it during combat?
You can switch it at any time on your turn when you are not in combat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mejoshua886 View Post
4) "Snow Shoes" gives a plus 3 bonus to fire attacks. How specific is this? Can you make up a story of how the monster you are fighting can breath fire?
It gives a +3 to your fire attacks. Items that have fire/flame ability either say "Fire" or "Flaming" in the title or are explicit that they do fire/flame damage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mejoshua886 View Post
5)Flame attacks do double damage to "Christmas Tree". Do items such as flaming armor(munchkin core set) count for this even though it is not an "attack"?
Anything you are currently using to fight a monster that has fire/flame abilities counts as a "flame attack," including the Flaming Armor (assuming you're wearing it).

Quote:
Originally Posted by mejoshua886 View Post
6)Can you play tinsel normally and them equip it to an armor after you get one? Can you do this in combat?
You can equip Tinsel with or without other Armor, and you can add Armor to it later, as long as you aren't in combat at that moment.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 03:52 PM   #5
RWBYWhistler138
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Default Munchkin santa holiday police

Holiday police states that a monster becomes no longer a santa monster or vice versa. So if i come across a santa monster and someone else puts a santa monster with it. Am i able to turn it into a normal monster and would the added santa monster just go away. Or would i still have to deal with both?
RWBYWhistler138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 07:28 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Reindeer games booster rules clarification

Once a monster joins the fight, it stays in the fight unless a card specifically dismisses it.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reindeer games, rules clarification

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.